Skip to content

Preeceville Wildlife showcased hunters in area

Annual Preeceville Wildlife measuring showcased record antlers from the Preeceville area.
Zander Neitling’s elk antlers scored a record book-worthy 351 and 7/8 at the Preeceville Wildlife antler measuring.

PREECEVILLE-The Preeceville Wildlife Federation held their annual meeting and antler measuring at the Preeceville Community Legion Hall on Jan. 14.

“There was good attendance even though it was a very cold day with 14 white-tailed deer, two mule deer, one antelope, two elk, and one moose brought in for measuring,” stated Heather Gawrelitza, club’s secretary/treasurer. Blair Mitchell was the official measurer. 

President Greg Gawrelitza expressed his appreciation for the club’s support in our local area and how lucky the group is to be able to acquire wildlife lands in our area which will ensure the future generations will be able to enjoy them for years to come. The club continues to support the Sturgis Wildlife Club with the Gun Range and donated $15,000 to Habitat Trust to help with local land purchases.

Gawrelitza spoke on chronic wasting disease and that there is a self serve 24-hour drop-off that is really easy to use located at Hudson Bay, Yorkton, Greenwater, and Duck Mountain. Chronic Wasting disposal bins are located at Melville, Prince Albert, Moosomin, and Pelly. 

The new trespassing laws have helped increase memberships for all the wildlife clubs since this is written permission for hunters to access the wildlife lands. Gawrelitza gave a reminder that memberships must be purchased for provincial awards before April 1 and for all species by Aug. 1.

Gawrelitza spoke on the Preeceville Wildlife Campground shower buildings that had a new floor installed and had a good year with some seasonal campers staying for the fall months.

Secretary/Treasurer Heather Gawrelitza gave the treasurer report and spoke on how lucky the club is to have the local support from local businesses, members, and directors that help make its fundraisers a success year after year. The fundraisers help the club support many local and provincial projects. The annual awards and banquet night is a very good fundraising night for the club along with its online auction with Bruce Schapansky Auctioneers. 

The club directors sell tickets on a Your Choice Raffle with the winners choosing what gift cards they want to win. Zachary Messner won first prize, choosing a $1,000 Preeceville Archery certificate; second prize was won by Mr and Mrs Ron Minke, choosing $300 in Co-op gift cards, and third prize went to Trevor Bilan, choosing $200 in Co-op gift cards. The fish artwork contest winners were in Grades four and five with Kelsey Olson and Lizzie Ivanochko winning fishing rods and hooks. There were no entries from Grade Six.

The Annie Laurie Lake Family Fire Pit has been completed in Memory of Darcy Rediger with memorial benches in memory of Nolan Thompson and Sheldon and Hilding Nelson. The Preeceville Wildlife club would like to recognize BB Construction - Frank Babiarz and Bonnie Kaytor- for making and donating the corner tabletops.    

Owen Myhr gave a report on memberships, emphasizing that the club is very fortunate to have good membership numbers.

Blair Mitchell is the Saskatchewan Wildlife Region 3 Wildlife Advisor and spoke on the concerns with how tags are decided.

Conservation Officers Johnny Petryshyn, Nathan Dutchak and Dave Sakal ­­­­­­gave a report and stressed the importance of calling in any violations to the SaskTip hotline. Petryshyn also spoke about reduced animal populations, the declining numbers of hunters, and land access around Twin Lakes.

The 2024 Club Executive is: Greg Gawrelitza, president; James Bodnar, vice-president; Heather Gawrelitza, secretary/treasurer; Owen Myhr, membership chair; Alex Nagy, newly-elected fisheries chair; Kelly Maupin and Colin Masko, trophy chairs; Brad Steppan, firearm chair; Trevor Bilan, habitat chair, and Greg Gawrelitza, campground chair.

Directors are Taylor and Shelby Sliva, Myron Shiplack, Brian Schlosser, Dreyton Paul, Lexie Young, Dale Parkin, Brooke Huska, Makayla Madsen, Brett and Steven Geistlinger, Paul Nixon, Ellen McKenzie, Kirby Pankratz, Taylor and Justin Jakubowski, Brent and Karen Van De Woestyne, and newly-elected Noah Tonn and Jessie Walker.

Lifetime Memberships for directors include: Howard Bilan, John Masko, Eugene Panasiewich, and newly-elected Tony Steciuk.

The attendance winner was Randy Pidherny, taking home a Co-op gift card. The adult measure winner was Gerald Ignatiuk, earning a Home Hardware gift card. Junior measure winner was Addison Danielson, with a Preeceville Archery Gift Card prize, and the 50/50 Winner was Carter Halkyard.