Skip to content

Janzen honoured with several awards at Terriers' Annual Banquet, DePape Rookie of the Year

Banquet recognizes exceptional players and fundraises for club

YORKTON – The Yorkton Terriers Hockey Club held their annual awards banquet Saturday night.

The Top Defenceman, Guy Lamb Memorial MVP, and President's Choice awards all went to Tyson Janzen of Saskatoon. The 20-year-old Janzen has played 50 games this season with eight goals and 21 assists. Upon receiving the Presidents' Trophy, Janzen offered a few words of encouragement to the cheers and applause of the audience and teammates in the form of "Let's go Terriers!"

Both the Scholar Athletic and Rookie of the Year awards went to 19-year-old goaltender and Yorkton home towner, Kael DePape. DePape has played 38 games with the Terriers in the 21-22 regular season with his goals-against average being 2.31 and a save percentage of 0.917.

The Josh Campbell Memorial Coach's Award was presented to two recipients this year. Both Carson Henry and J.D. Hall were honoured by the club for their efforts. Henry, a forward for the team, has played 29 games this season, scoring eight goals and assisting 11. Hall, a left-winger, has played 39 games with eight goals and nine assists.

The Ed Ruf Memorial Award: service award for a player's dedication and service within the community, was awarded to forward Zach McIntyre, of Rhein, Saskatchewan. Right-winger McIntyre scored his 100th SJHL career goal on the previous evening during the Terriers' matchup versus the La Ronge Ice Wolves. McIntyre played 41 games with the Terriers this season earning 15 goals and 15 assists.

The Jamie Standish Memorial Mr. Personality Award went to forward Steven Norum.  Norum, of Sherwood Park, Alberta, played 49 games with 12 goals and leads the team with 27 assists.

The Most Gentlemanly Player Award recipient was forward Karsten Kruska of Edmonton, Alberta. Kruska has played 44 games with the team offering up 12 goals and 12 assists.

Both the Chaplains Award and Unsung Hero Award were presented to Erik Boers of St. Albert, Alta. Boers, a right-winger, has played 47 games for the team this season, with 13 goals and 12 assists.

The Amos Border Memorial Award was presented to left winger Kishuan Gervais of Kamsack. Gervais, who leads the team in scoring, has 42 games played this season, with 17 goals and 17 assists.

The Mr. Hustle award went to Yorkton's own Colby Vranai. The left-winger has played 49 games this year with six goals and 16 assists.

Most Improved Player Award went to defenceman Tanner Sklaruk. From Stony Plain, Alta, Sklaruk has played 48 games this season contributing eight goals and 18 assists.

The Volunteer of the Year award was presented to Matt Dekker for his efforts with the team.

Throughout the evening various club fundraising efforts were underway, including auctions for several framed and autographed team photos that went for as much as $550. Team jerseys were also auctioned off, seeing as much as $1,000 from some generous fans.