Skip to content

It's official: six candidates on the ballot in Battlefords-Lloydminster

Candidates have officially filed with Elections Canada

THE BATTLEFORDS-LLOYDMINSTER - The nomination deadline has passed, and the complete list of candidates is now known for Battlefords-Lloydminster.

Six candidates are in the running for the seat, with election day scheduled for Sept. 20. All six have officially filed with Elections Canada and are confirmed to be on the ballot.

Here is a look at the six candidates:

Rosemarie Falk (Conservative): Falk is seeking a third election win after capturing the 2017 byelection to replace longtime MP Gerry Ritz, as well as the 2019 election. Falk is from Lloydminster and is a social worker by profession. In the last Parliament, Falk was the Conservatives’ shadow minister for Seniors.

Erik Hansen (New Democratic Party): Hansen is from the Unity area and while he is a newcomer to electoral politics, he has been active at the grassroots level with the NDP executive in the riding for a while. He has experience in the heavy equipment industry and had worked at Moody's Equipment, the local New Holland Ag Dealer, until his retirement in 2020.    

Larry Ingram (Liberal): Ingram is from Turtleford and has a background as a sheet metal contractor. He has been a familiar sight at election time for the Liberals in Battlefords-Lloydminster, as this is the fourth straight election or byelection in which Ingram is on the ballot. Ingram also has experience at the municipal level serving as a councillor in the RM of Mervin, and as a school board trustee.

Ken Rutherford (Maverick): From the Lloydminster area, Ken Rutherford is running for the new Maverick Party in this election. Rutherford is an instructor at Lakeland College and has a business background, running an appraisal business. He has been active with the Mavericks at the grassroots level, which led him to step up to the plate to run for the new party.   

Terry Sieben (People’s Party): This is the second election in which the People’s Party will have a candidate on the ballot in Battlefords-Lloydminster. Sieben has worked previously in the railroad and later the hospitality industry, and ran for the Progressive Conservatives in the 2020 provincial election. He is from Major.

Kerri Wall (Green Party): Wall is originally from Saskatoon but moved to British Columbia, where she has worked in the healthcare field with B.C. Interior Health on their Healthy Communities Program. She ran for the Greens federally in Prince Albert in 2019 and provincially in B.C. in Kootenay East in 2020.

Voters in the riding can expect to see and hear plenty from the candidates over the coming couple of weeks. All-candidates forums are scheduled for Sept. 8 in North Battleford (6:30 p.m. at Western Development Museum, hosted by the Battlefords Chamber of Commerce), on Sept. 9 in Unity, and then Sept. 13 in Lloydminster (hosted by the Lloydminster Chamber at Lakeland College cafeteria from 5:30 to 7 p.m.).