Skip to content

SWHL announces league award nominees

Nominations for the Sask West Hockey League includes players and coaches from Unity, Wilkie and Macklin.
Unity Miner Alex David, centre with the puck at his feet, has been nominated for the new Bill Cey – Hardest Working Local Player Memorial Award.

UNITY — The Sask West Hockey League released the list of nominees for league awards last week, including the nominees for the new Bill Cey – Hardest Working Local Player Memorial Award. Those nominees are Cody McKinnon for Macklin, Rick Cey for Wilkie, Kobe Kindrachuk for Hafford, Alex David for Unity, Joel Blaquiere for Edam, Derek Argue for Biggar and Jarrett Reichert for Kindersley.

The Harvey Somerville Memorial Award will go to one of Mitch Wall, Ken Kernohan, Reid McBride, Bill Sittler, Joe Cey or Kaleb Carter.

Coach of the Year nominees are Hafford’s Greg Gryzbowski, Biggar’s Cole Zarubiak and Kyle Laturnus and Unity’s Curtis McLean, Vern Schultz and Mitch Cooper.

Nominated for League MVP are two Wilkie Outlaws, Brock Harrison and Derek Keller, along with Brett Matlock of the Biggar Nationals.

Two Outlaws also made the short list for Top Defenseman – Derek Keller and Will Rathje. Nominated as well is Jordan Fransoo of Edam.

Nominees for Rookie of the year are Cody Beswitherick of Kindersley, Hunter Sperle of Unity and Wyatt Versiuis of Biggar.

Macklin’s Cody McKinnon and Wilkie’s Ryne Keller, along with Hafford’s Jordan Braid, are in the running for Best Defensive Forward.

Most Gentlemanly award nominees are Spencer Bast of Macklin and two players from Hafford, Brandon Lesko and Jeremy Boyer.

Vying for positions on the all-star team are Wilkie forwards Brett Boehm, Brock Harrison, Rory Gregoire and Ryan Keller; Biggar’s Chris Henry and Jonathon Redlich, Hafford’s Jeremy Boyer and Jordan Braid, and Macklin’s Spencer Bast.

The all-star defensemen will be chosen from: Braden Lacoursiere, Unity; Derek Keller, Wilkie; Will Rathje, Wilkie; Tyler Baier, Macklin; Byron Ismond, Kindersley; Jordan Fransoo, Edam; and Kobe Kindarchuk, Hafford.

The all-star goaltender will be either Brett Matlock, Biggar; Logan Drackett, Kindersley; or Taryn Kotchorek, Edam.