Skip to content

Electoral boundaries commission appointed

Three individuals tasked with drawing up provincial electoral boundaries.
Federal Election 2021 Getty
The boundaries for the next election are about to be decided.

REGINA - Premier Scott Moe has appointed members of the Constituency Boundaries Commission, tasked with redrawing the provincial constituency boundaries in the province.

The goal of the commission is to come up with boundaries roughly equal in population, taking into account any changes in population since the last time boundaries were drawn ten years ago.

The newest members of the Commission are Justice Donald Layh (chairperson), Joe Donlevy, former Chief of Staff to the Premier, and Frank Quennell, former Minister of Justice. 

The appointments are based on nominations from the Chief Justice of Saskatchewan, the government and by the Leader of the Opposition, respectively.

"This is an important task to ensure fairness in our democratic system," Moe said in a news release. 

"I want to thank the new Boundaries Commission in advance for the work they will do in the coming months.  I know they will do a great job redrawing the constituency boundaries."

Members of the Commission will now prepare an interim report and map of new constituency boundaries within three months, followed by public hearings to get feedback. They will then issue a final report and constituency boundaries map within six months of their appointment, which will form the basis of legislation to enact the new boundaries.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks