Skip to content

Sask. names six recipients of 2021 Order of Merit

Six residents will be invested into the Saskatchewan Order of Merit in November of this year.
Saskatchewan Order of Merit
The Saskatchewan Order of Merit is the highest honour presented in the province for outstanding contributions to the community.

REGINA — Six Saskatchewan recipients will join the ranks of previous honourees in the Saskatchewan Order of Merit this year, announced by the province today.

Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty offered his congratulations to the 2021 recipients, who were selected during a nomination process that evaluated their invaluable contributions to the province.

"The 2021 recipients of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit are remarkable citizens who are most deserving of this prestigious honour," said Mirasty.

Recipients are chosen due to excellence and achievement in numerous areas, including art, agriculture, business, community leadership, public service, research and volunteer service.

The recipients named this year include:

  • Mavis Ashbourne-Palmer, Regina;
  • Michael Bishop, Kamsack;
  • Albert Brown, Saskatoon;
  • Marie-Anne DayWalker-Pelletier, C.M., Balcarres;
  • Hart Godden, Regina;
  • Solomon Ratt, Regina.

These six individuals will join the 252 individuals previously invested in the Order of Merit since 1985, when it was established.

Recipients will take part in a ceremony in November, to receive their medals from the Lieutenant Governor.