Skip to content

Southeast transportation committee holds annual meeting

The South East Transportation Planning Committee is looking forward to a number of projects being completed this year.
Many of the highways covered by the South East Transportation Planning Committee.

KENOSEE LAKE - The South East Transportation Planning Committee (SETPC recently hosted its annual general meeting.

Twenty-nine attendees gathered at the Kenosee Inn for an informative afternoon with the Saskatchewan Ministry of Highways, Triple S Transport/Green Earth Road Spraying, and representatives from the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association and the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM).

The Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure's $741 million budget for 2024-25 includes:

•$404 million in capital funding;

•$56.5 million for multi-year projects such as twinning on Highways 6 and 39;

•$17.6 million to improve intersections, guardrails and lighting;

•$59.3 million for bridges and culverts;  

•$73.5 million for northern projects;

•$17.4 million for rural roads and bridges;  

•$8.6 million for urban highways;

•$850,000 to improve community airports;

•$530,000 for shortline railway improvements.

It will be a busy maintenance season in the southeast with major projects happening on various locations on highways 1, 8, 39, 9, 48, 18 and 47.

Darin and Tim from Triple S Transport/Green Earth Road Spraying shared their knowledge of the road product MG30, which is quickly becoming a popular road surface solution within municipalities throughout the province.

Attendees also received updates from SARM representative Bob Moulding and SUMA representative Pat Jackson (delivered by Town of Kipling Coun. and SETPC director Don Johnson), highlighting the work of these associations over the past year.

Annual elections were held with the eight SETPC director positions filled by acclimation: chairman James Trobert (Division 2 rural); vice-chairman John Brownlee (Division 1 urban); Kelvin Luedtke (Division 1 rural); Lindsay Clark (Division 2 urban); Chris Baran (Division 3 rural); Don Johnson (Division 3 urban); Dale McAuley (Division 4 rural); and Greg Nosterud (Division 4 urban).