Skip to content

Stoughton Curling Club enjoys open bonspiel

Curlers had a fun time at this year's event.
From left- Taureann Brigden and Reine Clark debate on where the next rock should go.

STOUGHTON - The Stoughton Curling Rink had curlers coming and going on Feb. 3 and 4 to take part in an open bonspiel.

Ten teams entered the tournament, consisting of two teams from Lampman, one from Fillmore/Creelman and the rest from Stoughton.

There was no age limit for playing and teams could have women, men or a mixed team.

Each game went on for approximately two hours with eight ends played.

Karla Gervais, Jenn Hogg and Reine Clark organized the event with Jeremy Hogg maintaining the ice.

Lunch could be purchased in the newly renovated kitchen on Feb. 4.

A supper break was held with salads and desserts donated by local curlers and fried chicken supplied by the Crossroads Inn from Stoughton.

Playoffs began with the A division between Stefan Clark’s team against Trevor Willock’s entry, with Willocks squad taking the win. The B division would be won by Bob Prosyk’s team, as they defeated Kevin Dickie’s team. Jenn Hogg’s entry would take the C division over Team Reine Clark.

A raffle basket was available. It was donated by Lakeview Insurance and won by Stefan Clark.

A toonie broom draw was also held and for $2 one could enter to win the Goldline curling broom donated by the Stoughton Credit Union. The winner would also receive half the pot which went to Rhonda Sangster.

According to Tammy King, it is a great and inexpensive way to have fun.

King said hockey can get costly with all the equipment needed, but with curling there are often brooms that can be used from the rink and registration is fairly low. Her daughter Shayda, who also plays, can go three times a week and not have to drive any further than Stoughton.

The King family entered a team in the bonspiel.

The event brought several spectators and teams cheered each other on.

For the month of February 50/50 tickets will be sold with the draw being held on March 4 at 6 p.m.