Skip to content

Saskatoon a Conservative sweep

But the races were close for much of the night, due to strong NDP challenges
sasktoon nightscape
Saskatoon goes Conservative in the federal election.

SASKATOON - As the last batch of votes were being counted. it was confirmed that all three Conservative incumbents are the winners in the Saskatoon ridings.

But all three races were competitive compared to the rest of the province, with the NDP putting up a fight for most of the night as the votes were counted.

As expected, Saskatoon West was the closest race in the province, with incumbent Conservative Brad Redekopp finally pulling away from Robert Doucette of the NDP in the final polls to win his second term in Parliament.

With 167 of 169 polls reporting, Redekopp won with 14,255 votes for 46 percent. Doucette trailed with 11,877 for 38.4 percent. Ruben Rajakumar of the Liberals had 2,580 votes for 9.2 percent while Kevin Boychuk of the PPC had 2.013 for 6.4 percent. Dave Greenfield of the Green Party brought up the rear at 341 votes.

The other two ridings saw considerably more comfortable Conservative wins, again with the incumbents pulling away as the last votes were counted.

In Saskatoon University, with 170 of 171 polls reporting, Conservative incumbent Corey Tochor was the projected winner with 19,081 votes for 49 percent, ahead of Claire Card of the NDP with 13,414 for 34.5 percent. Liberal Dawn Dupont Walker was well back with 4,086 votes for 10.5 percent, with Guto Penteado of the PPC with 1,702 votes for 4.4 percent.

In Saskatoon Grasswood, Conservative incumbent MP Kevin Waugh was projected the winner with an over 8,000 vote margin over Kyla Kitzul of the NDP. With 186 of 195 polls reporting Waugh had 50.5 percent of the vote compared to 29.8 percent for Kitzul and 13.7 percent for Liberal Rokhan Sarwar of the Liberals. Mark Friesen of the People's Party was running fourth with 4.8 percent.