Skip to content

All five Canora Minor Ball teams to play games on Sunday

The spotlight will be on the 77 youngsters who play with the Canora Minor Ball association on Sunday.

The spotlight will be on the 77 youngsters who play with the Canora Minor Ball association on Sunday.

Canora Minor Ball Day will feature games played by each of the association’s five ball teams, said Michelle Hembling, vice-president of the association.

The association includes one team of 23 players aged three to five years who are coached in T-ball by Candace Doogan, Hembling said. There are 17 players, aged six to eight years, who make up the Junior Rookie team which is coached by Brendon Skibinsky and Greg Smith.

The 23 players aged eight to 10 years make up two teams of Mosquitoes: the Canora Reds, who are coached by Graham Lamb and Jennifer Sleeva, and the Canora Black team, coached by Kelly Beblow and Kelly MacTavish.

Terry Wilson is the coach of the 14 players aged 11 to 13 years, who play on the peewee team.

Both, the two teams of Mosquitoes and the peewee team, are members of the Parkland Minor Baseball League and play in its north division, she said. The Mosquitoes play against teams from Sturgis, Preeceville, Norquay and Invermay, while the peewees play against teams from Yorkton, Langenburg and Melville.

All the teams meet at 6 p.m. on Mondays and Wednesdays for practices and games at the Canora sports ground, and on Minor Ball Day, all four of the sports ground’s diamonds will be used because each of the teams will be playing two games.

A concession will be open on the grounds all day, Hembling said. There is no admission to enter the grounds.

“We really want to thank all the volunteers, including the coaches and managers,” she said, adding that SaskLotteries funds that were received will help purchase equipment and new uniforms.

“We also thank the Canora Ag Society which allows the minor ball parents to man the gates during its annual Ag Days in August,” she said.

Working on the minor ball executive committee with Hemling are: Kelly Beblow, the president; Elly Luijke-Carlson, secretary; Shyla Yannoulis, treasurer, and Lisa Strozen, equipment manager.