Skip to content

Awards for young players who could be the hockey stars of tomorrow

Hockey season winds up with awards banquet that acknowledged the accomplishments of all Preeceville players.
Hockey MVP_result
The Most Valuable Player award for the Preeceville Pats U18 hockey team, sponsored by Lorne and Colleen Zubko, was presented to Skylar Ryczak, left by head coach Jesse Nelson.

PREECEVILLE - The Preeceville Minor Hockey Association acknowledged players, parents, coaches, fans and all volunteers for a successful season of hockey with s supper and awards banquet. The banquet was held on April 9 at the Preeceville Community Hall and served a combined 300 steak and hamburger suppers.

“We are happy to have everyone together to celebrate our season,” said Candace Kuta, president of Preeceville Minor Hockey. She acknowledged all the volunteers who helped prepare and serve the supper.

The walls of the hall were decorated with player profile banners and proudly displayed the banners won: The U13 G-banner, U18 A-banner, U15 A-banner and the U11 H-banner.

Lisa Moekerk, treasurer, gave a brief message on behalf of the board.

Tammy Stevenson, president of the Major Hockey League, had her written letter of acknowledgement recited. On behalf of the Major Hockey League she acknowledged Preeceville Minor Hockey and the four banners that were won in various divisions.

Kuta called all the coaches up to the stage to be acknowledged. “Volunteers are the pillars of the Minor Hockey experience and without them, local hockey simply would not exist. The commitment of time and determination serves not just our teams but each and every one of our players,” she said.

“We are fortunate to have a team in all divisions again this year, all of which have had so much growth, development and accomplishments.”

Kuta called up each team and coaches to present awards for most improved, most dedicated and sportsmanship.

The youngest team (U7) were all acknowledged with special awards from coach Dean Serdachny, “I am so proud of our small but mighty team of six players. Through the year each player grew and I am so proud to get back to coaching at this level because sometimes it is easy to forget the fun aspect of the game,” he said. Serdachny and coach Nathan Seghers handed out awards to the players. Dawson Serdachny and Ryder Beatty received most dedicated awards, Jacob Seghers and Maverick Tremblay received most improved, and Aryan Leason and Arianna Neilson received sportsmanship awards.

Conrad Peterson and Riley Erickson, coaches for the U9, team spoke briefly before handing out awards. “It has been a great season and nice to be back on the ice. I would like to encourage players to keep practicing and spend time on the ice taking advantage of public skating and shinny to help improve your skills. The team has grow through the season and finished the season on a great note,” concluded Peterson. Awards were presented to: Kasey Vanin (Most Improved), Lyndon Erickson (Most Dedicated) and Koy Babiuk (Most Sportsmanship).

The Preeceville Pats U 11 team brought home the H-side banner and coach Nicole Korpusik spoke briefly on their season before handing out awards. “It was an awesome year and great to just be able to play an get back to the ice.” She acknowledged all the older players who came out to be role models for the younger players. “I am very proud of the team who worked hard all season and brought home a banner.” she said. Awards were presented to: Allie Babiuk (Most Sportsmanship), Morgan Olson (Most Improved) and Carter Moekerk (Most Dedicated).

The U13 team was acknowledged by coaches Greg Olson and Riley Erickson. The team won the G-side banner and showed improvement and growth through the season. “We as coaches are very proud of each player and the success they showed as we conclude the season with a win. Awards were presented to: Emma Olson (Most Improved), Darian Serdachny (Most Dedicated) and Levi Maier (Most Sportsmanship).

The Highway Predators U15 team were acknowledged by coach Jordan Vogel. The team had a great season that ended in a big win of bringing home the A-banner. “The commitment showed to the team by each player, parents and fans was fantastic. The team ended its regular season with a 14 and 0 record and the enthusiasms and heart of all the player showed every game. Their passion for the game was huge and they always left everything on the ice.” Awards were presented to: Jace Vogel (Most Dedicated), Parker Ryczak (Most Sportsmanship) and Avyn Seerey (Most Valuable Player).

The senior U18 team had a challenging season that ended in upsetting the top ranked provincial champions, Moosomin, to win the A-banner. Head coach Jesse Nelson gave a brief season recap before handing out awards. “I have had the privilege and honour to coach the U18 team this year, we have had a stellar year and ended our regular season third in the league. We did not have a successful provincial run that ended in the first round but we shifted goals and focused on playoffs. The boys were well disciplined in their hockey all season with many players stepping up,” he said. He went on to acknowledged all the volunteers, parents and fans who supported the ream through the season. Medal awards were presented to: Bronson Heshka (Most Improved), Trever Geistlinger (Most Sportsmanship) and Spencer Leech (Most Dedicated).

Plaques were also presented to the U 18 players. Skylar Ryczak received the Most Valuable Player award sponsored by Lorne and Colleen Zubko. Ryczak continually contributed to his team’s successes and was counted on to deliver when needed.

Thomas Hauber received the Karen Theil memorial award for Best Defenseman. This award was given to a U 18 player who demonstrated the greatest all-around ability at the defensive position.

Hunter Lamb received the Trent Paul memorial award for Top Rookie for a player that in his rookie year demonstrates great ability, sportsmanship and love for the game.

Kaiden Masley received the Best Forward award sponsored by Jack Prien for a player who demonstrated the greatest all-around ability at the forward position.

Kaiden Masley and Trever Geistlinger each received the Marlin Romaniuk memorial award for Top Scorer. The award is given out to a player that had accumulated the most points overall throughout the season.

Seth Hort received the Mark Tonn memorial Sin Bin award. Mark Tonn had coached both senior and minor hockey throughout the years. When he was not coaching he was always working the penalty box. He was a huge supporter of the Preeceville Pats hockey club and the rink. The newly established award went to Hort who had accumulated the most penalty minutes through the season.

This year Preeceville Minor Hockey had four graduating players, with Bryker Smith, Seth Hort, Justin Abrahamson and Trever Geistlinger each being acknowledged.

A dance concluded the evening with music provided by Saddles and Steel. There was also a fun family feud game played which involved trivia questions.