Skip to content

Education institutions pledge co-operation

Saskatchewan and India renew post-secondary education MOU.
Post-secondary institutions covered under the MOU will work together to develop provincial-international education strategies and plans, says the Saskatchewan government.

REGINA — The Government of Saskatchewan and the Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute (SICI) have renewed their memorandum of understanding (MOU).

The MOU was signed on behalf of the province by Premier Scott Moe during his mission to India. 

The MOU will be in effect for three years and post-secondary institutions covered under it will continue working together to develop provincial-international education strategies and plans, build connections and share knowledge, according to a government press release.

SICI member institutions receive benefits such as access to grants and programs, attendance at events and workshops, and student development opportunities. Member institutions may also be eligible for funding and/or funded programs. 

SICI is a bi-national educational organization with 194 member institutions of higher education throughout India and Canada, including the University of Regina and the University of Saskatchewan. Its focus is to encourage linkages between India and Canada through academic exchanges, research, partnerships and networks. SICI offers programs that are accessible to students, faculty members and academic institutions in Saskatchewan.

In the 2022-23 academic year, over 4,300 Indian students enrolled in Saskatchewan's designated learning institutions, representing more than 38 per cent of all international students in the province.