Skip to content

New NDP MLAs appointed to critics posts

Newly elected NDP MLAs Noor Burki, Jared Clarke sworn in at the Legislature Thursday night.
Carla Beck is seen with Noor Burki and Jared Clarke as they are sworn in to the Saskatchewan Legislature.

REGINA - Saskatchewan's two newest New Democrat MLAs have been sworn in to the Legislature and have been named to shadow cabinet positions.

Regina Coronation Park MLA Noor Burki has been named Immigration Critic, while Regina Walsh Acres MLA Jared Clarke was named Environment Critic by leader Carla Beck.

Both were winners in provincial byelections held August 10. They were sworn in Thursday night in front of 300 friends, family, and other guests at the Legislative Assembly.

“Although Jared and Noor are just being sworn in now, they hit the ground running and have already been hard at it for weeks,” said Beck in a statement. “It’ll take a lot more work to turn this province around, but I’m so hopeful for the future. I truly believe that Saskatchewan’s best days are ahead of us.”

The NDP states in a news release that all of their other MLAs will continue on with their current critic portfolios. The legislative session is due to start in October.

You can no longer count on social media to deliver important news to you. Keep your news a touch away by bookmarking's homepage at this link.

Subscribe to newsletter to get our daily news to your inbox.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks