Skip to content

Four teams remain in SWHL playoffs, provincial quests continue for senior teams

The first weekend of February spelled the season end for three SWHL teams as Biggar and Kerrobert have now been eliminated from league and provincial play, while Unity's loss to Kindersley in league playoffs also ends their season.

WILKIE — January wrapped up with the Wilkie Outlaws completing their first-round sweep of the Biggar Nationals.

Wilkie’s offence was led by Ryan Keller with two goals and three assists with another impressive performance from Derek Keller, who scored one goal and three assists. SWHL multi-award winner, Brock Harrison was also a factor at 1-3. The Outlaws will have a bit of a rest now before they take on a strong Edam team in the league semifinal.

League president, Joe Cey, says, “Young Ryne Keller, on the strength of his hat trick in the Sunday night match and solid play throughout, was chosen player of the series.”

Cey also adds Carson Pickett was chosen as player of the series in Macklin. The Mohawks will now take on top seed, Kindersley Klippers, in the other league semifinal with the Hawks looking to repeat as league champions.

The strong squad from the Edam 3-Stars rolled into Kerrobert and completed the two-game sweep over the Tigers. Netminder, Jake Taylor, was selected player of the series with the shoutout, which is rarely seen for an entire season.

Cey notes, “Taylor has recorded shutouts in three of his last four starts.”

Feb. 3 was a rough night for SWHL teams as three clubs had their seasons come to abrupt ends including the Unity Miners who were not match for the Kindersley Klippers, losing 8-2.

Provincial action had Biggar Nationals eliminated by the Kyle Elks, Kerrobert Tigers were eliminated by Delisle and, with Unity’s league loss and their decision to not enter provincial playdowns, these teams will be packing up their locker rooms.

“Feb. 3, the Edam/Hafford provincial team got by Meadow Lake in provincial A, winning 5-1,” adds Cey.

Cey announces that defenceman Carson Grolla was named player of the series in the first round against Unity with three goals and one helper, including the tying and winning goals in game one.

The regular season SWHL awards were announced Feb. 3 with two yet to be named, including playoff most valuable player and the inaugural Bill Cey Memorial Award to be presented to the hardest working local player from eight nominees.

Wilkie Outlaws dominate winners' list in SWHL awards. -


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks