Skip to content

Inaugural award winners in new Cross Roads Hockey League

Cross Roads Hockey League announces winners of the 2023-24 season.

Three players on the Kerrobert Senior Tigers team came away with awards and Luseland Mallard Kyle Heintz picked up two awards, when the Cross Roads Hockey League announced their league award winners last week.

Heintz was named the league’s Most Valuable Player and also won the Top Scorer award.

Heintz played in all 12 of the Mallards’ regular season games and had a total of 28 points, with 19 goals and nine assists. Carson Dobson of the Dodsland Stars also ended the regular season with 28 points, earned from 17 goals and 11 assists.

Representing the Tigers on the awards list were Cole Kissick – Best Defenseman, Emery Cholin – Rookie of the Year and Most Gentlemanly – Mathew Neumeier.

In semifinal playoff action, the Kerrobert Tigers and Kindersley Kodiaks are tied with one win each in their best-of-three series, each winning a game on the road. Kissick has been racking up the points in the playoffs, scoring two goals in the 5-2 win Feb. 9 and being credited with an assist in the 3-1 loss Feb. 3.

Game three for the Tigers and Kodiaks is scheduled for Feb. 16, in Kerrobert, at 8 p.m.

Meanwhile, the Mallards who ended the regular season in last place in the four-team league, are down one game in their series against the league leaders, Dodsland Stars. They lost to the Stars in Dodsland Feb. 3, 9-2. Game two is in Luseland Feb. 17, at 8 p.m., and game three, if necessary, will be in Dodsland Feb. 24.