Skip to content

Nominations announced for Sask. Country Music Association awards

The SCMA Awards Show is set to take place on Saturday, June 10th, 2023, in Assiniboia
The Washboard Union, the CCMA country band of the year, will make a special appearance during the Saskatchewan Country Music Association awards, to be hosted at the Southland Co-op Centre.

REGINA - The Saskatchewan Country Music Association announces nominees for the 34th annual SCMA awards, presented by Access Communications Co-operative and Justin LaBrash leads the Awards list with eight nominations, including Male Artist, Country Album of the Year, and Fan’s Choice Award.

The SCMA Awards Show is set to take place on Saturday June 10th, 2023, in Assiniboia, Saskatchewan at the Southland Co-op Centre. Tickets are available at

“We’re thrilled to recognize the incredible talent in our province’s country music industry,” said SCMA President Steve Huber. “This year’s nominees represent a diverse range of artists, from established stars to up-and-coming performers, all of whom are making an impact in the world of country music.”

The nominees for the 34th Annual SCMA Awards are as follows:

Female Artist of the Year: Amanda Hagel, Jordyn Pollard, Karissa Hoffart, Shantaia, and Teagan Littlechief.

Male Artist of the Year: Adam Johnson, Brody Siebert, Chris Henderson, Jake Vaadeland, JJ Voss, and Justin LaBrash.

Indigenous Artist of the Year: Berk Jodoin, Darryl Anderson, LJ Tyson, Teagan Littlechief, and Yvonne St. Germaine.

Songwriter of the Year: A Letter to Dad - composed: JJ Voss, performing artist: JJ Voss; Broke to Brand New - composers: Shantaia, Ryan Sorestad, Brittany Knott, Guy Taylor Nash, performing artist: Shantaia; Everybody But Me - composer: Jake Vaadeland, performing artist: Jake Vaadeland; Running Away - composers: Justin LaBrash, Doug Sylvester, Dan Sully, performing artist: Justin LaBrash; and What Colour You Drive - composers: Joshua Jay Hunter, Luke Hunter, Ty Hunter, Brock Hunter, Dustin Hunter, Brad Rempel, Blake Bollinger, Seth Mosley, performing artists: Hunter Brothers.

Emerging Artist of the Year: Adam Johnson, Andrea An, Dan Cugnet, Darryl Anderson, and Morgan Robertson.

Country Album of the Year: 10 Bucks - performing artist: Katelyn Lehner; Come On Lets Go - performing artist: Adam Johnson feat. Andrea An, Cooper Tropeau, Ches Anthony, and Darryl Anderson; The Neon Palm Tree - performing artist: Justin LaBrash; and No Hurry In Growin’ Up - performing artist: Carlyne Ray.

Alternative Country Album of the Year: 45 - performing artist: Dan Cugnet; Rodeo Cabaret - performing artist: Dan Cugnet; Bloom - performing artist: Andrea An; Everybody But Me - performing artist: Jake Vaadeland; and Half Breed - performing artist: Berk Jodoin.

Video of the Year: A Letter To Dad - performing artist: JJ Voss, Broke to Brand New - performing artist: Shantaia; Love Letter - performing artist: Jordyn Pollard; Something’ about Nothin’ - performing artist: Justin LaBrash; and What Colour You Drive - performing artists: Hunter Brothers.

Interactive Artist or Group of the Year: Hunter Brothers, Jake Vaadeland, JJ Voss, Justin LaBrash, and Shantaia.

Bass Player of the Year: Brandon Ziola, Luke Hunter, Mick Gratias, Parker Nabis, and Terry Hoknes.

Drummer of the Year: Carter Kent, Darcy Deschambault, and Dustin Hunter. Fiddle Player of the Year: Dean Bernier, Evan Friesen, and Sam Derbawka.

Guitar Player of the Year: Brock Hunter, J.J. Hunter, Justin LaBrash, Morgan Turk, Scott Patrick, and Terry Lasko.

Keyboard Player of the Year: Amy Nelson, Jeffery Straker, Jesse Weiman, and Terry Hoknes.

Country Music Person of the Year: Bart McKay, Doug Sylvester, Leon Gilbertson, Matt Ryan, and Wes LaBrash.

Music Venue of the Year: Capitol Music, Club City, Limits Inn, Hank’s Tavern, and The Happy Nun Cafe.

Music Festival of the Year: Bow Valley Jamboree, Country at the Creek, Country Thunder Saskatchewan, Raymore Summer Slam, and. Waskesiu Lakeside Music Festival

Fans Choice Entertainer of the Year: Hunter Brothers, Jake Vaadeland, JJ Voss, Justin LaBrash, and Tenille Arts.

Single of the Year: Back Then, Right Now - Tenille Arts, Broke To Brand New - Shantaia, Diamonds - Hunter Brothers, Peace, Love & Country Music - Hunter Brothers, and Trippin’ - Amy Nelson.