Skip to content

Little, Barrow win Bruins' MVP awards

Keagon Little won three awards this season.

ESTEVAN - The Estevan Bruins wrapped up the 2023-24 season Monday by handing out numerous awards at a reception at the Days Inn's Taylorton Room.

Keagon Little was the big winner on the day with three honours, including the team's MVP. He finished second on the team and tied for 13th in the league in points with 62, and was fourth in the league in assists with 50.

Little also won the Mark Cross Memorial Ethics Award, which goes to a player who excels both on and off the ice. The award is named after Cross, who was an assistant coach with the Humboldt Broncos when he died in the Broncos' bus tragedy in 2018.

Cross also spent three seasons with the Bruins, and won the Ethics Award in 2010 and 2011.

Little also won the Bruins' community involvement award for his work in the community, and is a finalist for the league's community ambassador honour.

This season marked Little's fourth and final campaign with the Bruins. He was their captain this year.

Owen Barrow was named the team's playoff MVP. He finished with a goal and three points in five games, and was praised for his all-round contributions during the postseason. Barrow also won the team's Rocky award for being the most aggressive player during the regular season.

Felix Allard won the top defenceman award. He finished the season with 20 goals and 34 assists for 54 points in 54 games.

Carsen Dyck was selected as the rookie of the year after he finished with six goals and 16 points in 45 games despite still being eligible to play U18 AAA hockey.

Other award winners were:

•Ilia Chmelevski won the club's top scorer award after he finished with 30 goals and 67 points in 55 games;

•Chmelevski, Raine Hodge and Owen Simmons shared the team's ironman award, as they each played a team-high 55 games in the 56-game season;

•Goaltender Cam Hrdlicka, who played three seasons of junior hockey in Estevan, was named the most popular player;

•Dillon Jackson was named the most improved player;

•Zach Burfoot was named the most sportsmanlike player;

•Brady Wilson won the Mr. Hustle award;

•Blake Heward received the Ab Berday Most Scholastic Player Award;

•Cade Kennedy won the most underrated player award; and

•Kaelan Whittingham won the Training Staff's Heart Award.