Skip to content

Littlechief, Last Birds up for three SCMA awards each

Chris Henderson is also up for an award.

Several talented performers from southeast Saskatchewan are among the finalists for this year's Saskatchewan Country Music Association (SCMA) Awards. 

Teagan Littlechief, who hails from the White Bear First Nations, is up for the Female Artist of the Year, Indigenous Artist of the Year and Fans' Choice Entertainer of the Year Awards. Among the other finalists for Female Artist of the Year is Karissa Hoffart, who won the Estevan Sings competition in 2019. 

North Portal folk duo Last Birds, comprised of husband-and-wife duo Mike Davis and Lindsay Arnold, are up for Group of the Year, Songwriter of the Year for their tune Sounds Like Heaven, and Alternative Country Album of the Year for Endless Turn of Day Into Night.

Also, former Estevan resident Chris Henderson is a finalist for the Male Artist of the Year honour.

Leading the nominations this year is Jake Vaadeland with six in total, including Male Artist of the Year and Fan's Choice.

Shantaia is coming off a great 2023 and has five in 2024, including Female Artist and Country Album of the Year.

The SCMA Awards Show in Lloydminster Presented by Access Communications Co-operative. is set to take place on Saturday, June 22, at the Vic Juba Community Theatre. The finalists are: 

Female Artist of the Year:

Amy Nelson

Jordyn Pollard

Karissa Hoffart

Katelyn Lehner


Teagan Littlechief

Male Artist of the Year:

Brody Siebert

Chris Henderson

Jake Vaadeland

JJ Voss

Justin LaBrash

Group of the Year:

The Crosby Harle Band

Last Birds

Munro & Patrick

Indigenous Artist of the Year

Berk Jodoin

Darryl Anderson

Teagan Littlechief

Yvonne St. Germaine

Songwriter of the Year

"Aces & 8's", Songwriters: Berk Jodoin and Aspen Beveridge, Artist: Berk Jodoin

"Black N' Blue", Songwriter: Tommy John Ehman, Artist: Tommy John Ehman

"Damaged Goods", Songwriters: Shantaia Poulin, Adam Wheeler, David Borys, Artist: Shantaia

" I Ain't Going Back To Nashville", Songwriter: Jake Vaadeland, Artist: Jake Vaadeland

"It's All I Need", Songwriter: Donny Parenteau, Artist: Donny Parenteau

"She Got It From Her Mama", Songwriters: Brock Andrews and Jeff Johnson, Artist: Brock Andrews

 "Sounds Like Heaven", Songwriters: Lindsay Arnold and Mike Davis, Artist: Last Birds

Emerging Artist of the Year:

The Crosby Harle Band

Dan Cugnet

Darryl Anderson

Glen Strong

 Joshua Stumpf

Country Album of the Year:

Drinkin' In Public, Artist: BRUIN

Exes and Friends, Artist: Shantaia

Nathan Davis, Artist: Nathan Davis

Alternative Country Album of the Year:

"Badlands", Artist: Dan Cugnet

"Badlands II", Artist: Dan Cugnet

"Endless Turn of Day Into Night", Artist: Last Birds

"She's a Story", Artist: Jackie K

Video of the Year:

Damaged Goods, Artist: Shantaia, Director: Ryan Nolan

I Ain't Going Back to Nashville, Artist: Jake Vaadeland, Director: Sawyer Edworthy

Missing You, Artists: Munro & Patrick , Director: Caleb James

Running Away, Artist: Justin LaBrash, Director: Prehistoric Productions

Upside of Being Down, Artist: Jordyn Pollard, Director: Kim Capiral, Narra Studios

Interactive Artist or Group of the Year:

Amy Nelson

Darryl Anderson

Jake Vaadeland

Justin LaBrash

Katelyn Lehner

Bass Player of the Year:

Brandon Ziola

 Luke Hunter

 Mick Gratias

 Parker Nabis

 Terry Hoknes

Drummer of the Year:

Carter Kent

Darcy Deschambault

Dusty Hunter

Kurtis Kopp

Guitar Player of the Year:

Brock Hunter

Jake Vaadeland

Keegan Barker

Nick Strelic

Scott Patrick

Terry Lasko

Keyboard Player of the Year:

Amy Nelson

Jackie Kroczynski

Jeffrey Straker

Terry Hoknes

Wayne Honig

Radio Station of the Year - Major Market:

Prince Albert - Saskatchewan Country CKBI (900 AM)

Regina - 620 CKRM (620 AM)

Regina - Pure Country 92.7 (92.7 FM)

Saskatoon - 92.9 The Bull (92.9 FM)

Saskatoon - CJWW 600 (600 AM)

Radio Station of the Year - Secondary Market:

Estevan - Country 106.1 FM (106.1 FM)

Melfort - FM Country CJVR (105.1 FM)

North Battleford - Saskatchewan Country CJNB (1050 AM)

Weyburn - Country 106.7 FM (106.7 FM)

Yorkton - GX94 (940 AM)

On-Air Personality of the Year:

Chase Hussey

Cody Glydon

Courtney Fielder

Jason Lee

Matt Ryan

Music Director of the Year:

Courtney Fielder

Danny Ismond

Matt Bradley

Record Producer of the Year:

Producers: Aspen Beveridge and Berk Jodoin, Aces & 8's, Performing Artist: Berk Jodoin

Producer: Aspen Beveridge, Drink Me a Lullaby, Performing Artist: Joshua Stumpf

Producer: Bart McKay, Love Me Like an Outlaw, Performing Artist: Kalsey Kulyk

Producer: Bart McKay, Drinking With the Boys, Performing Artist: Adam Johnson

Producer: Bart McKay, Single at a Wedding, Performing Artist: Jordyn Pollard

Producer: Bart McKay, Upside of Being Down, Performing Artist: Jordyn Pollard

Producer: Donny Parenteau, It's All I Need, Performing Artist: Donny Parenteau

Recording Studio of the Year

Big Bang Studios

Contrast Recording

Facca Audio

SkullCreek Studio

Saskatoon Music Recording Studio

Country Music Person of the Year:

Bart McKay

Jerad Bowes

Larry Krause

Matt Ryan

Music Venue of the Year:

The Bassment

Capitol Music Club

Coors Event Centre

Hank's Tavern

Longbranch Good Times Beverage Company

Music Festival of the Year:

All Folk'd Up

Country at the Creek

Country Thunder Saskatchewan

Dog Patch Music Festival

Waskesiu Lakeside Music Festival

Fans Choice Entertainer of the Year:

Brody Siebert

Hunter Brothers

Jake Vaadeland

Justin LaBrash

Teagan Littlechief

Single of the Year:

Burning Down the Barn - Hunter Brothers

Girl to Girl - Tenille Arts

Hung Over You - Shantaia

Peace, Love & Country Music - Hunter Brothers

What Colour You Drive - Hunter Brothers

The Saskatchewan Country Music Association is a non-profit organization, dedicated to the promotion, development, and enhancement of all aspects of Saskatchewan country music at the local, national, and international level.