Skip to content

Southeast communities to benefit from Provincial Traffic Safety Fund grants

Three communities in the southeast to receive grants for traffic safety improvements.
Pedestrian Crossing Getty
The provincial government has announced funding for traffic safety projects.

Eighty communities to receive funding for traffic and pedestrian safety initiatives.

Cree language traffic signs, solar powered speed displays and a variety of pedestrian safety projects are among initiatives benefiting from the latest round of grants from the Provincial Traffic Safety Fund. 

A total of 85 applications to 80 Saskatchewan communities were approved for Provincial Traffic Safety Fund Grants. Communities will receive grants ranging from $2,250 to $92,601 for a total of $1,342,762. 

The funding will help install pedestrian pathways, increase speed limit signage and improve school zone safety in rural, urban and Indigenous communities across the province.  

“The Provincial Traffic Safety Fund Grant program continues to fund safety improvements intended to reduce traffic collisions, injuries and fatalities in our province,” said Don Morgan, Minister Responsible for SGI. “Congratulations to all the successful communities for taking action to improve safety for their residents.” 

In the southeast, Town of Bienfait will receive $32,331 for Highway 18 crosswalk to recreation. RM of Enniskillen will be granted $12,788 to install warning signs fir traffic safety on Highway 18 and Main Street. Town of Midale is also to receive $14,070 to have solar radar speed signs installed in the community.

Provincial Traffic Safety Fund grants are awarded to communities twice a year, using proceeds from Photo Speed Enforcement (PSE). 

A total of 492 community traffic safety projects have been funded, totaling more than $6 million, since the Provincial Traffic Safety Fund was established in 2019. 

Eligible traffic safety initiatives, including projects, equipment, programs and public awareness, must focus on one of the following priority areas: speeding, impaired driving, distracted driving, occupant protection and intersection safety.  

Applications are reviewed by a committee made up of representatives from the Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association, the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities, the Prince Albert Grand Council, the Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police, the Ministry of Justice, the Ministry of Highways and SGI.  

The Provincial Traffic Safety Fund Grant Program will start accepting applications for the next round of Traffic Safety Fund grants on July 1, 2022. The deadline for the next round of applications is Sept. 30, 2022.

For more information, visit SGI’s website

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks