Skip to content

Don Hilstrom re-elected to another term as RM of Estevan councillor

Hilstrom edged Barbara Connely in the race for Division 2
Don Hilstrom, Division 2 councillor.

SOUTHEAST SASKATCHEWAN - Don Hilstrom will continue to be the councillor for Division 2 with the RM of Estevan.

Hilstrom defeated Barbara Connely 45-40 in the election that was held on Nov. 9. Hilstrom has been the councillor for Division 2 for over a decade.

Connely was seeking her first term as councillor.

James Trobert (Division 4) and Steve Smith (Division 6) were previously acclaimed as councillors for another four-year term.

Numerous other subdivisions in the southeast also held elections on Nov. 9.

In the RM of Argyle No. 1, Cal Dumaine defeated George Howden in Division 4, and Greg Henderson won over Koree Rutledge in Division 6.

In the RM of Enniskillen No. 3, Cameron Nordin won in Division 2 by defeating Lukas Palmer, while Shane Boyes won in Division 4 over Corey Fitzpatrick.

Terry Sernick defeated Bruce Craig in the RM of Coalfields No. 4’s Division 6.

In the RM of Souris Valley No. 7’s Division No. 2, Kelly Ashworth defeated Kevin Lohse.

Dustin Millette defeated Rick Dancey in the RM of Storthoaks No. 31’s Division 2.

Two elections were contested in the RM of Moose Creek No. 33. Reed Gibson defeated Greg Freitag in Division 2, while Melissa Gervais beat Jean (Autumn) Lesage in Division 4.

An election for reeve was needed in the RM of Benson No. 35 after the previous RM head, David Hoffort, announced he was stepping down. Kenneth Wallewein knocked off Donald Van De Woestyne 73-28.

In the RM of Cymri No. 36, Henry Wiebe won over Bradley Goettling in the race for Division 2.

In the RM of Antler No. 61, Louis Poirier defeated Keith Rutten in Division 4.

Two division had elections in the RM of Moose Mountain No. 63. Darcy Moore defeated Richard Burnett in Division 2.

Division 6, meanwhile, had one of the most interesting results on election night. Blair Andrew and Paul Delalleau finished tied for first with 10 votes each. Jessica Shirley was one vote back with nine.

As per the Local Government Election Act, the names of Andrew and Delalleau were written down on blank sheets of paper of equal size, colour and texture, and folded in a uniform fashion. Then they were placed in a receptacle, and Andrew’s name was drawn, so he was the winner.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks