Skip to content

Holy Family School Division celebrates service awards, retirees

Holy Family teaching and support staff were presented service awards, and four retirees were honoured

WEYBURN – A party atmosphere pervaded McKenna Hall in Weyburn on Friday evening, as the staff and their families gathered to celebrate service awards, and the retirement of four longtime teachers.

This event had been cancelled in 2020 and 2021 because of COVID restrictions.

After the catered meal, the evening began with entertainment by four students from St. Michael School who all did very well in this year’s Weyburn Rotary Music Festival.

Alexandra Jose, a Grade 3 student, played piano and sang two songs, followed by Maynuelle Ofalla, a Grade 7 student who also played a piano piece and sang.

David Sorowski, a Grade 8 student, played two songs on piano, and Marin Kurtz, Grade 9, performed two piano pieces.

The service awards were presented or announced, with trustees presenting the recipients in each year category.

Staff receiving five-year awards included Katherine Kawecki, Lyse King and Andrea McClelland, all of St. Mary’s; Mark Power and Bonnie Strutt of Sacred Heart; Meghan Kirkpatrick, St. Augustine; Vanessa Gurniak, St. Michael; Janique Wilson, Sacred Heart, and Kathie Yanko of Wilcox.

Ten-year awards were presented to Megan Vanstone and Agnes Garrioch, St. Mary’s.

The 15-year awards went to Jeannette Seemann, Sacred Heart; Vivyan Mantei, St. Mary’s, and Jody Corbett, St. Michael.

Receiving awards for 20 years of service were Rhonda Schell, Sacred Heart; Maureen Daoust, Holy Family learning facilitator; Laura Garvey, St. Mary’s; Teresa Van De Sype, board trustee, and Sherrill Verhelst, St. Olivier.

The 25-year award recipients were Sheila Dosch, Anita Gellner and Lana Dubreuil, St. Mary’s; Kathy Lascelle of St. Michael School; Chad Fingler, superintendent of school operations, and Jocelyn Olson of St. Olivier. The 30-year award went to Lisa Fisher of St. Olivier School.

Retiring staff were Judy Holyer and Jennifer Woodard of St. Michael, and Margot Peloquin and Nicole Dupuis of Sacred Heart School.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks