Skip to content

Kipling School celebrates the Class of 2022

The graduates were escorted into the hall by their parents to the songs Growing Up, Don’t Blink and My Wish, followed by the singing of O Canada, with accompaniment by Bonnie-Jean Dash. 
Kipling Grad
The Class of 2022 at the Kipling High School.

Graduation exercises honouring the Class of 2022 were held June 11 at Kipling High School with 30 graduating.  

The graduates were escorted into the hall by their parents to the songs Growing Up, Don’t Blink and My Wish, followed by the singing of O Canada, with accompaniment by Bonnie-Jean Dash. 

The MCs for the afternoon were Makenna Marton and Braeden Meszaros. 

Greetings from the Town of Kipling were brought by Mayor Pat Jackson. Terry Berglund brought greetings from the Prairie Valley School Division and presented the Prairie Valley School Division Student Leadership Award to Desta Johnson.  

Johnson was also the recipient of the Director of Education Achievement Award presented by Luc Lerminiaux, who holds the role for the school division.  

Ashley Dew brought the message from the staff, commenting on many memorable moments of the students, with the reply given by Kiara and Lexi Walker, thanking all the teachers for making a difference in their lives over the years. 

Band presentations were made by Bonnie-Jean Dash to nine graduating students of Southeast Outer Limits, including Kiara and Lexi Walker, Lanita Puffalt, Aaron Borja, Samantha Allan, Samantha Ealey, Winston Grayson, Cole Warner and Tyler Lowenberger. 

Ryan Garvey presented the Myles DeNora-Labrecque Award to Cole Warner who plans to continue on in a career in welding. 

The Knights of Columbus Windthorst Council Bursary was presented by Rhett Larsen to Hanna Steele. 

Sarah Kirkness presented the Royal Canadian Legion Branch No. 6 History Scholarship to Aaron Borja. 

Kassandra Montaron received the Andres Trucking Math Award as well as Three Sisters Foods Science Award, both presented by June Dash. 

Terry Berglund presented the Prairie Valley School Division Student Success Award which went to Abby Nicholson. 

The spotlight on each of the grads and their future plans were given by Desta Johnson and Trae DeDecker.  

DeDecker received the John Mansuy Memorial Scholarship presented by Casandra Mansuy. 

Sheila Szakacs presented the Lorne Olver Memorial Award to Cole Warner. 

Troy Johanson presented the Vaderstad Industries Inc. Scholarship Funds. A $500 scholarship was awarded to Kassandra Montaron, $500 bursary went to Camille Joy Pagulayan, and Dylan Johanson received both a $500 scholarship and bursary. 

The Chittronics Bursary was presented by Ashley Dew to Kassandra Montaron. 

The Susan Long English Award was presented by Monica Olson and Krysta Grieve to Lanita Puffalt, who had the highest average in English. 

Saskatchewan Youth Apprenticeship Awards were presented by Rhett Larsen. The recipient of $1,000 scholarship was Cole Warner, who intends to pursue a career in welding.  

Elwyn MacLean presented the Royal Canadian Legion – Grenfell Branch #55 $500 bursary to Connor Box. 

A number of students have received university entrance scholarships including: Jodelle Hall, $1,000 from University of Saskatchewan; Aaron Borja, $1,500; Hanna Steele, $1,500; Rochelle Toth, $1,000; Jaxen Fischer, $1,500, all from the University of Regina. Camille Joy Pagulayan and Kassandra Montaron were both awarded $3,000 from the U of R. 

David Bircher presented the 2021 Governor General's Medal to Maya Johnson who had an overall average of 94.25 per cent. 

Following a message from principal David Bircher, he and Garth Shoemaker presented the Grade 12 Diplomas. 

The valedictorian’s address was given by Kassandra Montaron. 

A video presentation was shown, featuring photos of each of the graduates. 

The ceremony ended with Caroline Puffalt playing the piano to God Save the Queen. 

The 2022 graduates and their escorts exited the ceremony to a variety of songs including The Show Goes On, Time of Our Lives, Green Light and The Nights. 


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks