Skip to content

Photos and winners: KCRA Rodeo in Estevan sees great action

The KCRA Rodeo attratced a lot of riders to Estevan, and many local participants had great performances.

ESTEVAN - The 2022 edition of the Estevan KCRA Rodeo saw great participation and a lot of impressive performances.

The rodeo, which was a part of the Energy City Ex organized by the Estevan Exhibition Association, took place on Jun 11-12 at the Graham Collie Arena at the same time as the fair.

The stands were fully packed on the rodeo-opening day on Saturday, and hundreds of people took an opportunity to see the performances on Sunday.

Riders from all across the province competed in bareback, steer wrestling, tie-down roping, breakaway roping, saddle bronc, team roping, bull riding, steer riding and barrel racing. The KCRA Rodeo saw participants in adult, junior and peewee age categories.

Justin Carrier of Arcola had the highest combined score over two days in bareback and became 2022 bareback champion.

In saddle bronc, Daniel Hitchens hailing from Lemberg, received the most points to claim the first place in the discipline.

After two days of competition, Tanner Lockie of Balgonie claimed the 2022 tie down roping champion title.

Foster Arneson coming from Tisdale came in first in junior steer riding at the Energy City Ex 2022 rodeo.

Houston Stover of Qu'Appelle became the champion in the senior steer wrestling discipline.

In ladies breakaway roping, Sheridan Lillyman, hailing from Beechy, was recognized as a two-day winner.

Header Matt Pick and heeler Isaiah Anslow of Rosetown claimed the championship in senior team roping.

In junior team roping, Payton Lockie, who came from Balgonie, took the top spot. She also claimed the championship in junior breakaway roping.

Allee Kapeller, hailing from Beechy was named the champion in peewee team roping.

Lexi Harvey of Weyburn took home the trophies for winning in ladies barrel racing.

In junior barrel racing, Jenna Emmel of Estevan had the highest combined score over two days.

Abi Hanson from Langbank came in first in peewee barrel racing.

Trevan Bevan of Carievale was the No. 1 bull rider over two days.

In junior steer riding, Sawyer Cieckiewicz, hailing from Wolseley, became the sole champion.

Full scores, times and detailed placings weren’t available at the press time. 

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks