Skip to content

Sask. Volunteer Medal recipients include 12 community advocates, leaders

Twelve individuals will be honoured next week with the Saskatchewan Volunteer Award from Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty.

REGINA — The 2020 recipient’s of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal have been announced, and the list includes a dozen hard-working individuals from across the province.

The prestigious medal, established in 1995, recognizes extraordinary work done by volunteers in Saskatchewan. Since it's inception, the award has been given to a total of 228 individuals.

"The Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal acknowledges the exceptional contributions made by these generous and capable individuals," said Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty. "I offer my congratulations and thanks to each recipient on this well-deserved honour."

This year, 11 recipients will be invited to receive their medal from Mirasty at a ceremony held in their honour, including:

  • Anne Chase, Regina;
  • Jean de Dieu Ndayahundwa, Regina;
  • Peggy George, Melfort;
  • Derek Harrison, Fort Qu’Appelle;
  • Eileen Herman, Qu’Appelle;
  • Ken Hartz, Bradwell;
  • Frank McDougall, Saskatoon;
  • Leela Sharma, Saskatoon;
  • Richard Strayer, Saskatoon;
  • Lorraine Silzer, Assiniboia;
  • and Bernice Woolhouse, Assiniboia.

Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Cade, CD of Regina will be honoured posthumously as the final recipient, for his volunteer work during his service in the Canadian Forces.

Honoured volunteers will receive their medals on Aug. 26, during the ceremony hosted at Government House in Regina. 

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks