Skip to content

Ten different drivers win features at speedway’s weekend doubleheader

The Estevan Motor Speedway had its latest double-header during the weekend, with the annual kids' night happening Saturday.
Estevan Motor Speedway July 22 2022 pic 2
The Estevan Motor Speedway entertained fans during a regular program Friday night.

ESTEVAN - The Estevan Motor Speedway’s latest doubleheader offered plenty of excitement for people to enjoy, along with the track’s annual kids’ night.

The track was able to get Friday night’s program in despite a thunderstorm that rolled through the area a couple of hours before the scheduled start. While Estevan was doused with heavy rain and even some hail for more than an hour, the speedway had light rain, and the program started about 45 minutes late after some extra track preparation work.

It also forced the track to have their race schedule slightly out of order, with the sport mods leading off, followed, by the stock cars, modifieds, slingshots and hobby stocks. Normally hobby stocks would open the races.

Justin Fichter had the most exciting win of the night, as he passed Brian Kentner in the final turn to win the sport mod class. Kentner had led since the early going. It was the first time this season that a driver other than Leevi Runge has won the sport mod feature.

Ryder Raynard was third and Keenan Glasser came in fourth.

Austin Daae was the winner of the stock car feature. Jeremy Swanson had the early lead, but spun out and had to go to the back of the field. Austin Daae moved into top spot, held off Chris Hortness early on in the race, and then slowly pulled away from Hortness as the feature progressed. Hortness was second, Devon Gonas came third and Jeremy Istace was fourth.

Ed Turnbull won the modified feature. He built up an impressive lead early, but his son Tyson chipped away at the advantage, and with six laps remaining, the younger Turnbull grabbed the lead.

A few laps later, Tyson Turnbull slowed due to mechanical problems and had to leave the track. That put Ed Turnbull back in command, and he would win by several seconds.

Joey Galloway was second, Kody Scholpp was third and Tyler Wagner came fourth.

Cash Saxon was the winner of the slingshot feature. Saxon passed Eli Turnbull with four laps remaining and pulled away for the win. Jace Emmel would also get passed Eli Turnbull to get second, while Eli Turnbull wound up third. Jacek Ashworth was fourth.

Connor Hansen had a dominant win in the hobby stocks, finishing about six seconds ahead of Kayden Hjorteland. Hansen seized the lead on the opening lap and never looked back.

After some early cautions, the final 14 laps were contested under green flag racing, allowing Hansen to pull away.

Landon Runge was third and Quentin Skjerdal came in fourth.

Kids’ night was offered Saturday, with free admission for those 12 and under. They enjoyed a variety of activities, and could tour the pits and meet the drivers before the program.

As for the racing itself, Landon Runge was the winner in the hobby stock class. Hjorteland was second, Hansen came in third and Ty Saxon was fourth.

Rylan Raynard came first in the sport mods, with Leevi Runge second, Glasser third and Adrian Dickie taking fourth place.

The slingshot class saw Emmel win the feature, finishing ahead of Ashworth, Eli Turnbull and Cash Saxon.

In the stock car class, Swanson was the winner, with Daae in second, Hortness third and Istace in fourth.

And Kody Scholpp won the modified feature, ahead of Tyson Turnbull, Galloway and Ed Turnbull.  

In the points standings, Landon Runge and Kaiden Tuchscherer are tied for top spot in the hobby stocks with 266 points each. Hjorteland sits third with 256 and Hansen is fourth with 252.

Leevi Runge still has a strong lead in the sport mod class with 271 points, 16 clear of Glasser. Fichter is third with 239 and Mike Hudson is one back at 238.

Hortness has the biggest lead in any division, as he has a 24-point edge over Chase Davidson, 272-248. Geoff Mann is third with 247 and Gary Goudy Jr. is fourth at 243.

The modifieds have a tight battle, as Kody Scholpp has 268 points, one more than Tyson Turnbull. Galloway (260) and Kyle Scholpp (246) are third and fourth, respectively.

Cash Saxon has a narrow lead in the slingshot class with 267 points, one more than Emmel’s 262. Eli Turnbull is still within striking distance at 262, and Jagger Ashworth sits fourth with 243.

The next event at the speedway will be the monster truck program July 29 and 30. The next races will be Aug. 12 and 13, which will mark the return of the late models to Estevan.