Skip to content

Weyburn Comp SRC wins Student Citizenship Award for project

Public Schools of Saskatchewan announced its third annual Student Citizenship Award winners, including the Weyburn Comprehensive School’s SRC, for their “Giving Tree Project”.
The Weyburn Comp SRC received the Student Citizenship Award fro the Public Schools of Saskatchewan, one of six schools around the province honoured. From left are Megan Martinson, SRC advisor; Vanessa Flavel, SRC advisor; SRC members Mitzi Recto, Semi Kaur and Merry Ghebremeskel; Lois Smandych, chair, Public Schools of Saskatchewan awards committee; Education Minister Dustin Duncan, and Alan Nunn, Student Citizenship Awards committee member. Missing are SRC members Gracyn Knipfel and Erika Sinn.

WEYBURN – Public Schools of Saskatchewan announced its third annual Student Citizenship Award winners at a special ceremony in Regina on Friday. The awards recognize initiatives undertaken by public school student groups or classes that support citizenship or character building within their school and community. Three $1,000 awards were presented for Grade 1-8 projects and three for high school projects.

Winners include Weyburn Comprehensive School’s SRC, for their “Giving Tree Project”.

Three members from the WCS SR SRC committee, who completed the application along with their advisors, attended the ceremony to accept this award on June 2. This award was given for the school’s annual Giving Tree project, which involves the entire school, both students and staff, putting together Christmas hampers for families in need in the community.

A monetary award of $1,000 accompanied the award, which can be used to advance this valuable project or start a new one.

Dustin Duncan, Minister of Education and MLA for Weyburn Big Muddy, along with Public Schools of Saskatchewan awards committee members, Lois Smandych and Allan Nunn, presented the award.

“The WCS SR SRC is very proud to share this award with all WCS students and staff.  With WCS’s enthusiasm and support, the Giving Tree has become a proud tradition, serving the community of Weyburn,” said SRC advisor Vanessa Flavel.

The award presentation ceremony included remarks by Dustin Duncan and Senator David Arnot, who serves on the Concentus Citizenship Foundation board.

“We are proud to celebrate these incredible students and the staff who support them,” said Lois Smandych, Public Schools of Saskatchewan executive member and chair of the citizenship awards selection committee. “These projects highlight the great work that is happening in public schools across our province to educate students about both their rights and their responsibilities as citizens of our pluralistic society.”

Public Schools of Saskatchewan represents 15 public school boards in the province and advocates for inclusive public education in Saskatchewan.