Skip to content

Weyburn Review, This Week win 7 SWNA awards

Publisher Andrea Corrigan wins special recognition award from SWNA

WEYBURN – The Weyburn Review and This Week newspapers won a total of seven awards in the Saskatchewan Weekly Newspapers Association’s annual Better Newspapers Competition, plus a special award of recognition for publisher Andrea Corrigan.

The winners were announced via Zoom on Friday afternoon, and began with the presentation of the Julie Schau Memorial Award to Corrigan.

The award is “in recognition of outstanding dedication to the community newspaper industry in Saskatchewan.”

The award was named for Julie Schau, who worked for the SWNA for over 15 years.

“Her dedication and passion for creating a better industry for the members of the SWNA was unsurpassable,” stated the SWNA about the award, noting Schau passed away on Nov. 26, 2012, at the age of 48.

For the Premier awards, editor Greg Nikkel of the Weyburn Review won first place for Editorial Writing Excellence.

There were two second-place awards, the first for the Salute to Veterans, for the story, “Wife of SSR vet proud to serve as War Mother”, by Greg Nikkel, about Frieda Lillejord who served as War Mother for the Weyburn Legion on Remembrance Day in 2021.

The other second-place award went to a story in Weyburn This Week for Best Sports Story, for “Weyburn pickleball player shares her love of the game”, by Greg Nikkel. The story was about Deana Mainil of Weyburn and her passion for the sport of pickleball.

In third place was an entry for Best Health Care series of stories from the Weyburn Review, for two stories about Sabrina Mainil and her battle with cancer, by Greg Nikkel

A double-page photo essay by Greg Nikkel and Sabrina Kraft about the 2021 Weyburn Ag Fair, published in July 2021, also won third place for Best Photo Essay.

In the General Excellence category, which presents awards for Best Front Page, Best Editorial Page and Best Overall Newspaper (in their circulation category), the Weyburn Review won third place for Best Front Page and Best Overall Paper.