Skip to content

Big Six Hockey League holds scheduling meeting

The Big Six Hockey League held its annual scheduling meeting to discuss some notable changes ahead of the new season.
Hockey net
Big Six Hockey League season will start the weekend of Nov. 19.

The Big Six Hockey League held its annual scheduling meeting last week, and a few notable changes occurred.

The new league president is Ryan Toms of Redvers. Ryan Thompson of Midale remains as vice-president, while league secretary-treasurer Amanda Rokochy of Wawota is also still in her role. Dean Horvath will continue to handle the stats and regularly update the Big Six website.  

The Moosomin Rangers and Oxbow Huskies have been added to the league. In addition to the Arcola-Kisbey Combines being granted a one year’s leave of absence, the Kipling Royals are also not able to field a team this year.  

The other teams in the league are the Bienfait Coalers, the Carlyle Cougars, the Carnduff Red Devils, the Midale Mustangs, the Redvers Rockets, the Wawota Flyers and the Yellow Grass Wheat Kings.

With nine teams in the league, there will be a 16-game schedule, with each team playing a home and home with the other eight teams. The regular season will start the weekend of Nov. 19.  

There will be three rounds of playoffs starting in February, with a best of three quarterfinal, a best of five semifinal, and either a best of five or best of seven league championship series, to be decided by mutual agreement of the finalists.  

Toms is looking forward to the start of senior hockey.  

“Due to COVID, the Big Six Hockey League did not crown a champion the past two years. With all players, coaches, officials and executive having to be double vaccinated for 2021-22, we expect no additional medical issues this season. I expect to preside over a great league and an exciting year of Big Six Hockey,” Toms said. 
push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks