Skip to content

ECS Elecs football team hands out awards

Hayden Holmgren was named the Team MVP, while Preston McGuire won three awards.
Head coach Mark Schott, left, and defensive co-ordinator Chris Bayerle, right, present the team MVP award to Hayden Holmgren.

ESTEVAN - The Estevan Comprehensive School Elecs football team wrapped up its 2023 season Tuesday night by handing out its year-end awards at the school's cafetorium.

Grade 11 student Hayden Holmgren was named the team's MVP and defensive player of the year. Head coach Mark Schott said Holmgren excelled in all three facets of the game, playing as a wide receiver, defensive back and kick returner.

"He was a big target for us at the wide receiver spot who our quarterbacks connected with numerous times for big plays, and he had some excellent punt returns and kickoff returns that set up our offence with great field position," said Schott in an email to the Mercury and SaskToday.

"He was great on special teams and offence but dominated as a lockdown defensive back. His height, length and speed allowed him to shut down the opposing team's top receivers. He had multiple interceptions and many pass knockdowns, and it seemed like he was in on every tackle on the field as his relentless pursuit of the ball was a huge asset to our defence."

Preston McGuire and Jayren Schulz also won multiple awards. McGuire was named the team's offensive player of the year for his play at running back, the top special teams' player for his efforts as a punter and kick returner, and he shared the Who Are We?/Bryan Illerbrun Memorial Award with Schulz and Phoenix Johnston.

Schulz, who played linebacker for the Elecs this season, also took home the Players' Choice Award as voted by his teammates.

Johnston played both offensive and defensive lineman this past season.

Illerbrun, who hailed from Gainsborough, spent 14 years playing in the CFL as an offensive lineman, winning two Grey Cups, including a championship with the Saskatchewan Roughriders in 1989. The Who are We/Illerbrun Award is one of the top awards for the Elecs each season.

Other award winners were:

Top rookie: defensive back Jayden Smith;

Top lineman: offensive lineman Mike Schroeder; and

Ironman: defensive back and linebacker Thomas Harrison.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks