Skip to content

Elecs athletes compete at cross-country districts

Several students have advanced to provincials in Melfort on Oct. 15.
Elecs Cross Country districts
Cutline: Competing at high school cross-country districts were, back row, from left, Phillip Gellner, Ethan Ostrander, Kristen Carlson, Kylie Phillipchuk and Sarah Kamel. Front row, Logan Nielsen, Jaxson Schad, Osama Kamel and Moksh Rabari.

OXBOW - Estevan students had an impressive showing at the South East District Athletic Association cross-country meet in Oxbow on Oct. 5. 

Many students from the southeast region were at the competition. Races were held for students in Grades 7-12.

Several athletes from the Estevan Comprehensive School qualified for provincials in Melfort on Oct. 15. Sarah Kamel finished first in the intermediate girls’ division with a time of 15 minutes and 13.91 seconds to win the district medal. 

Phillip Gellner qualified in the junior boys with a time of 20 minutes and 35.46 seconds. Osama Kamel qualified in the senior boys’ race with a time of 27 minutes and 49.88 seconds. Kylie Phillipchuk (27 minutes and 8.49 seconds) and Kristen Carlson (26 minutes and 5.74 seconds) qualified in the senior girls and will go to provincials for the third time.  

Also competing from ECS were Jaxson Schad (intermediate boys), and Logan Nielsen, Moksh Rabari and Ethan Ostrander (junior boys).

Coach Kelly Phillipchuk described it as the toughest district course they have encountered in many years.  

Also at the event, Adeon Sullivan of Sacred Heart School/École Sacré Ceour was first in the Grade 8 boys with a time of 12 minutes and 53.96 seconds.  

Other age group winners were Will Sutter of Redvers School with a time of nine minutes and 12.59 seconds in Grade 7 boys; Brynn Hanna of Rocanville, Grade 7 girls, 10 minutes and 39.49 seconds; Rylie Gervais of the Weyburn Comprehensive School, Grade 8 girls, 14 minutes and 25.17 seconds; Luke Holman of McNaughton High School in Moosomin, intermediate boys, 11 minutes and 32.36 seconds; Aldwin Kasi of the Oxbow Prairie Horizons School, junior boys, 18 minutes and 26.20 seconds; Mary Lee NcNeil of Oxbow Prairie Horizons, junior girls, 23 minutes and 16.97 seconds; Zayn Leslie, McNaughton School, senior boys, 22 minutes and 49.20 seconds; and McKenzie Miller of Oxbow, senior girls, 21 minutes and 15.21 seconds.  


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks