Skip to content

Estevan Chargers win Moose Jaw Minor Football League U12 championship

First title for Penta Completions Estevan Minor Football

MOOSE JAW - A team from Penta Completions Estevan Minor Football has won a league title for the first time.

The Estevan Coldwell Banker Choice Real Estate U12 Chargers defeated the Moose Jaw Spartans 27-0 Saturday evening in Moose Jaw to capture the Moose Jaw Minor Football League championship. 

TJ Thompson had three touchdowns for Estevan and was named the offensive MVP. Taylor Lisafeld had the other score.

Hugh Ross of the Chargers was named the defensive MVP. 

The Chargers won their final five games in the regular season, including two over the Spartans, to finish first in the league with a 5-1 record. It marked the first time an Estevan team has won a regular season championship.

They then blanked the Weyburn Ravens 64-0 in the semifinal to advance.

Estevan did not surrender a point in the playoffs this year.

The next edition of the Mercury will have more on this story.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks