Skip to content

Estevan Minor Football unveils new Wall of Fame; announces award winners

Many deserving recipients recognized

ESTEVAN - Several people who played an instrumental role in bringing football back to Estevan more than a decade ago have been recognized. 

The Estevan Football Family Wall of Fame was unveilled during the Penta Completions Estevan Minor Football (EMF) Awards Night and annual general meeting Wednesday night. It salutes those who have been a big part of the EMF and the Estevan Comprehensive School Elecs football team.

Four charter members were announced: Sheila Leach-Dougherty, Marco Ricci, Brian Senchuk and the late Brian Smith.

Leach-Dougherty was the instigator in bringing minor football back to Estevan in 2008, as she wanted to have a way for her son and other kids in Estevan to play the game.

Ricci was critical in resurrecting high school football in Estevan the following year, and he was the Elecs head coach for their first few seasons.

Senchuk and Smith were inducted together. They were both active in minor football in many capacities during the first few years, including rebuilding the field at Woodlawn Regional Park after it was decimated by the Souris River flood of 2011.

Affectionately known locally as “The Two Brians,” they were the co-chairs of the 2016 Saskatchewan Summer Games Committee for Estevan.

The Wall of Fame will be located at the tower of the Dana Quewezance Memorial Field at Woodlawn Athletic Park.

Minor football also announced that its Volunteer Family Award would be renamed after Smith, who died suddenly earlier this year. The first recipients of the rechristened award were the Stubel-Tangjerd families.

Each team also handed out awards.

For the Estevan U10 Power Dodge Cudas, the winners were Cameron Locken (sportsmanship), Tyson Stubel (most improved), Anderson Murphy and Jake Hockey (offensive co-MVPs), Casey Kitz (defensive MVP), Mason Lesy (MVP), and Madden Bresciani (Canuckcade most dedicated).

Award winners for the U12 Coldwell Banker Choice Real Estate Chargers were: Dexter Ciepliski (most improved), Taya Stigings (top rookie), Xander Pelletier (sportsmanship), Hugh Ross (defensive MVP), TJ Thompson (offensive MVP), Kaleb Crossman (team MVP), and Arvin Sanger (driven dedication).

The U14 Estevan Lions Club Oilers award winners were: Kalib Roy (most improved), Dane Hogg (top rookie), Liam Thompson (most sportsmanlike), Peyton Tendler (defensive MVP), Cooper Pukas (offensive MVP), and Truman Ciepliski (team MVP).

The Estevan Kinette Club U18 Viragos female team’s winners were: Mercedes Paterson (top offensive lineman), Hailey Duke (top defensive lineman), Addison Shiels (top rookie), Avery Tatarnic (sportsmanship and offensive MVP), Hailey Tangjerd (defensive MVP), Sarah Greening (most improved), Amanda March (team MVP), and Mahlyn Bomberak (Bryan Illerbrun Community Award).

Minor football held its annual general meeting Wednesday as well, electing its executive for 2022 and reflecting on the successes of the past year.

Next week’s edition of the Mercury will have more on the awards night and the annual meeting.