Skip to content

Estevan team wins provincial 8-ball championship

Champions will compete at dominions in Alberta later this year.
From left, Estevan branch sports chairman John Greenhough, provincial command sports representative and District 1 commander Ray Coderre, and provincial champions Chris Wright, Dennis Ramos, Edwin Arcenas, Jesus Gonzales and Melissa Donison.

ESTEVAN - A team of Estevan billiards players has won the Royal Canadian Legion’s 8-ball championship for Saskatchewan.

The Estevan legion branch hosted the provincial tournament on Friday and Saturday. The team comprised of captain Chris Wright, with Dennis Ramos, Edwin Arcenas, Jesus Gonzales and Melissa Donison, came out on top with 55 points from their games.

They will advance to the dominion championship in Innisfail, Alta., later this year.

A total of five teams entered provincials. The entry of Doug Cairns, Burt Blondeau, Burva Connor and Steven Valentine finished with 47 points.

Leonard Grube, Willie Forrest, Jim (Frosty) Forrest and Duane Hunt had 38 points.