Skip to content

Three drivers won twice at Estevan Motor Speedway doubleheader

The Estevan Motor Speedway offered plenty of action during the Canada Day long weekend.

ESTEVAN - It took an extra day, but the Estevan Motor Speedway was able to complete its Canada Day long weekend doubleheader. 

The track held a regularly scheduled program on July 1, but it had to postpone the program for July 2 due to a short but powerful storm that drenched the track hours before the program was to start. The July 2 races were pushed back a day to July 3.

Landon Runge was the winner in the hobby stock class each night. He finished ahead of Conner Hansen, Kaiden Tuchscherer and Kayden Hjorteland on the first night.

For the second program, Tuchscherer was second, Hjorteland came in third and Kruz Wilson was fourth.

Tuchscherer continues to set the pace in the overall standings with 195 points, seven more than Runge.  

Leevi Runge continued his mastery of the sport mod class, as he won the feature both nights, and has now won all five sport mod features this season. 

Darren Schatz, who was once again the lone U.S.-based driver competing at the track on Friday, was second. Ryder Raynard was third and Rick Milewicz finished fourth. 

Justin Fichter took second on Sunday, with Keenan Glasser in third and Adrian Dickie fourth.  

Leevi Runge has 196 points to lead the overall standings for the sport mods. Glasser is second with 180.  

Cash Saxon won the slingshot feature each night. He was ahead of Jacek Ashworth, Brogen Wagner and Hudson Mann the first night, and Jagger Ashworth, Eli Turnbull and Jace Emmel in the second.  

Saxon has 190 points to lead the slingshots, three more than Jace Emmel and four more than Eli Turnbull.  

Joey Galloway took home the modified feature on Friday night. He finished ahead of Ed Turnbull, Kody Scholpp and Tyson Turnbull the first night of racing.  

In the second night, Tyson Turnbull was the winner. Galloway was second, Tyler Wagner came third and Ed Turnbull was fourth. 

Tyson Turnbull has the lead in the modified division with 195 points, four more than Kody Scholpp. The top four cars in the modifieds are separated by 13 points.

In the stock cars, Chris Hortness won on Canada Day, with Brendon LaBatte in second, Chase Davidson third and Geoff Mann fourth.  

Devon Gonas finished ahead of Hortness on the second night. Davidson and Mann were third and fourth, respectively.

Hortness leads the modified division with 195 points, 15 more than Geoff Mann.  

A few of the out of town drivers had to return home Sunday after Saturday’s program was postponed, but the rest of the field was able to race both nights.  

The next double-header at the track will be July 22 and 23. Then a monster truck special is scheduled for July 29 and 30. 



push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks