Skip to content

Jackson Miller named team MVP at Estevan Bears' banquet

Several awards handed out

ESTEVAN - The Estevan Steelhaus U18 AAA Bears hockey team capped their first full season in the Saskatchewan Male AAA Hockey League by handing out their year-end awards on Saturday night.

Goaltender Jackson Miller of Estevan was the big winner, as he was named the club's MVP. He finished the season with a 9-18 record, with a 3.72 goals against average and a .900 save percentage. Several of the losses came in overtime or a shootout. He also recorded a shutout - the first in Bears' history. 

Miller was also named the league's goalie of the month for January. 

Several other awards were handed out. Forward Tucker Buhay was recognized for being the top scorer, as he had 20 goals and 20 assists for 40 points in 41 games. 

Defenceman Boston Harkness was named the club's top defensive player. Harkness had eight goals and 34 points in 42 games, and was third in team scoring.

The top rookie award went to forward Marshall Light, who was fourth in scoring with 14 goals and 30 points in 41 games.  

Forward Kole Keen was named the hardest worker, while Cade Cole was selected as the most improved. Both were in their first year of U18 AAA hockey. 

Defenceman Ayden Lamarre and forward Daniel Ganert shared the most scholastic award. Ganert also received the scholarship award.

The event also served as a chance to recognize the club's graduates: Miller, Lamarre, Buhay, Ganert, and forwards Caden Drury and Levi Herauf. Drury was this year's captain.