Skip to content

Midale's Keely Shaw named Saskatchewan Sport Female Athlete of the Year

Oxbow athlete part of the team of the year
Keely Shaw Medal
Midale's Keely Shaw won a bronze medal at the Paralympic Games in Tokyo. She was named Sask Sport's Female Athlete of the Year Thursday night.

Midale's Keely Shaw has added to her list of athletic accolades.

Shaw, who now resides in Saskatoon, was named Saskatchewan Sport's Female Athlete of the Year Thursday night during a virtual ceremony. She was nominated by the Saskatchewan Cycling Association.

She won bronze in the women’s C4 3,000-metre individual pursuit, recording a time of three minutes, 48.342 seconds in what was her debut event at the Paralympics.

She edged out Australia’s Meg Lemon in the bronze race at the velodrome.

Shaw also finished fourth in the time trial with a time of 42 minutes, 11.09 seconds, and 13th in the road race

Her medal was the first won by a Canadian at the Tokyo Paralympics. 

Also on Thursday, the Team Sask. 15U girls' water polo squad was named Team of the Year. Among the members of that team is Oxbow's Rachel Tober. 

The team won the 15U National Water Polo Champions, after they recovered from a four-goal deficit in the final five minutes of the championship game.

Viewers and supporters gathered virtually on Thursday night to celebrate the finalists and recipients of the 2021 Saskatchewan Sport Awards.

The annual awards program honours the achievements and dedication of Saskatchewan’s amateur sport community. This year, the program returned with a full slate of award categories after an altered program was presented for the 2020 awards.

In the Excellence Awards, 18 individuals were announced as finalists in six different categories, including Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Youth Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year and Team of the Year.

The Recognition Awards honoured seven deserving recipients with the Coach and Volunteer Dedication Awards, as well as the new Inspire Through Sport Award.

“On behalf of Sask Sport and its membership, I would like to congratulate all of the Saskatchewan Sport Awards finalists and recipients,” said Lance Dudar, volunteer chair of Sask Sport, during the program. “Tonight, we are honoured to celebrate outstanding amateur athletes, teams, coaches and volunteers from across Saskatchewan. These individuals lead by example daily to show everyone that sport, truly, is more than a game.

“The dedication and perseverance each award finalist and recipient shares make them great ambassadors for both sport and this province. The stories and accomplishments on display throughout this awards program have made me proud to be from Saskatchewan and part of the sport community.”