Skip to content

Photos: Estevan Minor Football hands out awards

Estevan Minor Football handed out awards and held its annual general meeting Monday night.

ESTEVAN - Brandt Truck and Tractor Estevan Minor Football wrapped up the 2023 season Monday night by handing out awards.

For the Estevan U10 Canuckcade Cudas, James Harmsworth was named the most dedicated player. Each player received a medal.

Recipients for the Estevan U12 Power Dodge Chargers were Max Ogdanskiy (most valuable player), Mason Lesy (offensive MVP), Parker Kosior (defensive MVP), Cameron Locken (most sportsmanlike), Casey Kitz (Driven Distribution most driven), Ben Guertin (most improved) and Jude Shackleton (rookie of the year).

For the Estevan Lions Club U14 Oilers, the award winners were Hugh Ross (team MVP and offensive MVP), Arvin Sangar (defensive MVP), Dexter Ciepliski (most sportsmanlike), Tucker Karcha (most dedicated), Luke Morrow (most improved) and Kieren Kyle (top rookie).

For the Estevan Kinette Club U18 Viragos, the recipients were Rylee Briscoe (team MVP), Morgan Hase (offensive MVP), Kelsey Greening (defensive MVP), Emily Greening (offensive line MVP), Kassidy Wallington (defensive line MVP), Miaya Smith (most sportsmanlike), Sophia Lester-Geysen (Prairie Rathole most dedicated) Aurora McCutcheon (most improved) and Natasha Hengen (top rookie).

Tom and Amanda Moffatt were presented with the Brian Smith Volunteer Family Award. They took time out of their summer vacation to rebuild a grandstand at Chow Field, and they have taken the reins for the EMF display at the upcoming Festival of Lights in Woodlawn Regional Park. Tom coaches with the Chargers, and their sons play football.

Elizabeth Bergen was selected for the Brian Illerbrun Community Award for her dedication to the sport. A member of the Oilers, she broke her femur early in the season, but she continued to come into Estevan from Oxbow on a regular basis to be at practices and help the coaches.

Steve McLellan is this year's inductee for the EMF Wall of Fame. McLellan joined Estevan Minor Football in 2010 as the head coach of the U12 Chargers. At the time, the EMF was in just its third year and had not enjoyed much success in Regina Minor Football. The Chargers made it to the RMF semifinals, which was viewed as a remarkable feat for a young organization.

McLellan also quickly became active on the board, stepping in as vice-president in 2010 and becoming president in 2011, just in time to deal with the flood of the Souris River. McLellan was instrumental in finding the EMF a new facility, the field south of the Estevan Comprehensive School.

Past-president Kevin Mortenson said the EMF was very fortunate to have McLellan involved during that time as he dealt with a lot of the paperwork and red tape needed to get the facility at Woodlawn operational again.

Thanks to McLellan's work, the EMF also had a building donated by Cenovus Energy and equipment donated by the University of Saskatchewan Huskies at Dr. Dean Chow Field.

McLellan relocated to Alberta in 2013 for work-related purposes. He was unable to attend on awards night.

Paul Duncan was recognized with a plaque in honour of his 10 years of coaching football.

The annual general meeting was also held Monday. Pat Ford will be back as president for another year. Paul Duncan will be the vice-president, Tia Thacker is in charge of fundraising, Kathy Thompson the secretary and Deana Bachorcik is the treasurer. Members at large will be Michelle Smith, Trevor Goetz, Elyse Mantei, Jeremy Ciepliski, Mark Tribiger, Matthew McGillivray and Tom Moffatt.

The terms for Kevin Mortenson, Megan Tangjerd and Jennifer Froese have ended. Mortenson stepped down as president in the summer after a lengthy term in the role.