Skip to content

Southern Rebels host awards night

Brett Tiffen and fellow coaches, Al Sinclair and Mike Morhart, handed out the awards

Assiniboia - The Richardson Pioneer Southern Rebels Junior B Hockey Club held its annual awards night on March 26. Many players, board members and volunteers attended.

General Manager Brett Tiffen, addressed the players, parents, coaches, staff, board members, and volunteers to thank them for their dedication and support during the 2021-2022 hockey season. Brett and fellow coaches, Al Sinclair and Mike Morhart, handed out the awards for the evening: 

Most Improved Player: Dylan Harden

Top Defenseman: Dawson Diekrager

Rookie of the Year: Matt Morhart

Most Sportsmanlike: Jayden Lupuliak

Most Points: Joel Niemegeers

Most Valuable Player: Joel Niemegeers

Barry Karst Award (dedication, perseverance sportsmanlike):
Walker Berner

100 Games Played:
Joel Niemegeers
Trey Stocker (absent)

Coaches Award: Trey Stocker (absent)

The following write-up was submitted by the Southern Rebels Hockey Club: “volunteers are the lifeblood of the Richardson Pioneer Southern Rebels.

From governing the club, game day operations, billeting players, to fundraising, every little bit of help goes a long way for our organization.”

“The hockey club values the ongoing community fan support and commitment from a wide range of businesses in and around the Assiniboia area and we take this opportunity to thank each and every one for their continuing contributions. We are proud to be a part of the Prairie Junior Hockey League and provide a place for young hockey talent.”

President, Dale Berner, added “…we played our last season in the Assiniboia Civic Center.  It holds memories that hopefully will last for eternity. I wish you (players) all the best. We hope to bring back the Southern Rebels, stronger than ever, and may the ghosts of past champions continue on with us to the new arena.”