Skip to content

Weyburn area artists nominated for Sask Country Music awards

Weyburn area artists were among the nominees for the 2024 SCMA Awards in Lloydminster, to be presented on June 22.

WEYBURN – The Saskatchewan Country Music Association announced their nominees for the 2024 SCMA Awards in Lloydminster, presented by Access Communications Co-operative, with local artists up for awards.

The SCMA Awards Show is set to take place on Saturday, June 22, in Lloydminster at the Vic Juba Community Theatre.

Leading the nominations this year is Jake Vaadeland with six in total, including Male Artist of the Year and Fan's Choice. (Vaadeland will be coming to Weyburn to perform for the Weyburn Concert Series on Monday, April 22.)

The nominees for Female Artist of the Year include Weyburn’s Karissa Hoffart, and Amy Nelson, Jordyn Pollard, Katelyn Lehner, Shantaia and Teagan Littlechief.

Weyburn singer-songwriter Dan Cugnet is up for Emerging Artist of the Year, along with The Crosby Harle Band, Darryl Anderson, Glen Strong and Joshua Stumpf.

Cugnet was also nominated for Alternative Album of the Year for “Badlands”, and “Badlands II”, along with “Endless Turn of Day Into Night”, by Last Birds, and “She's a Story” by Jackie K.

Weyburn’s Tenille Arts is up for Single of the Year, for “Girl to Girl”, along with three singles by the Hunter Brothers, and one by Shantaia.

More information on the awards ceremony is available at