Skip to content

Carlyle and surrounding areas well-represented on SCMA award nomination list

Award winners will be handed out on June 10.
Teagan Littlechief of the White Bear First Nations.

ASSINIBOIA - Music fans in the Carlyle area will have lots of candidates to cheer for at the Saskatchewan Country Music Association (SCMA) Awards this year.

The SCMA has announced the nominees for the 34th annual awards, presented by Access Communications Co-operative.

Teagan Littlechief of the White Bear First Nations is among the finalists for Female Artist of the Year. She is also up for Indigenous Artist of the Year.

Morgan Robertson of Carlyle is a candidate for Emerging Artist of the Year.

Morgan Turk of Forget is nominated for Guitar Player of the Year.

The Happy Nun Café in Forget, which was destroyed by a fire last December, is a finalist for the Music Venue of the Year. The Nun has won the award on multiple occasions in the past. And Leon Gilbertson, who owned the restaurant with his wife Gayla, is a finalist for Country Music Person of the Year.

And Oxbow’s Bow Valley Jamboree is a finalist for Music Festival of the Year.

Meanwhile, Justin LaBrash, who has family in southeast Saskatchewan, leads the awards list with eight nominations, including Male Artist of the Year, Country Album of the Year, and Fan’s Choice Award.

The SCMA awards show is set to take place on June 10 in Assiniboia at the Southland Co-op Centre. Tickets are available at The awards night will be a highlight of four days of activities in the town.

"We’re thrilled to recognize the incredible talent in our province's country music industry," said SCMA president Steve Huber. "This year's nominees represent a diverse range of artists, from established stars to up-and-coming performers, all of whom are making an impact in the world of country music."