Skip to content

Estevan hockey stars help Sask win marquee hockey tournament

Abigail Jutras, Madelyn Stead, Zyla Hammett and Paisley McIntyre helped the Saskatchewan Grrrowl finish first.
From left, Abigail Jutras, Madelyn Stead, Zyla Hammett and Paisley McIntyre.

CALGARY - Four female hockey players from the Estevan Minor Hockey Association helped the 2013 Saskatchewan Grrrowl win a prestigious tournament in Calgary during the Victoria Day long weekend. 

Abigail Jutras, Madelyn Stead, Zyla Hammett and Paisley McIntyre helped Saskatchewan capture the tournament. They defeated Team Minnesota 3-2 in the final. 

Saskatchewan also defeated the Manitoba All Stars 4-1, Westcan 2-1, the Western Selects 4-0 and Team Minnesota 6-0 on their way to the final. 

Jutras had three goals and three assists over the course of five games. McIntyre had two helpers and Hammett finished with one assist. Stead played goal for the Grrrowl. (Goalie stats were not available).  

The Grrrowl are a AAA female spring team comprised of top female players in and around the Regina area who were born in 2013. They have competed in three tournaments this spring, winning gold in Calgary and Regina, and taking silver in Fargo, N.D.

The team will head to Winnipeg this coming weekend for the North America Female Challenger for the final tournament of the season. The Grrrowl will be playing up a division against 2012-born players.