Skip to content

Eleven teams enjoyed Arcola's open bonspiel

Winners were crowned in the A, B and C events.
Don Willock’s team from Lampman won the A division in the Arcola Open Bonspiel. From left, Cory Fleck, Jayden Fleck, Calvin Christenson,and Don Willock.

ARCOLA - This Arcola Curling Club has held an open bonspiel for the first time since COVID-19 hit the world.

Eleven teams were happy to sign up for the event, held on Jan. 12 and 13.

Jason Dukart is the icemaker and does a great deal of the maintenance, among other curling rink jobs.

The concession offered snacks and drinks throughout the day.

According to Autumn Downey, a delicious meal of pork and beef was prepared and served by the club's members. Karon Dukart organized the meal, the bar and the volunteers for the kitchen. Many others stepped up to help out on the busy day.

Curlers also had the opportunity to enjoy happy hour once or twice.

A fun time was had by everyone who attended, with many laughs from the players and spectators.

The winning team of the A division was Don Willock’s crew from Lampman. Other members were Cory Fleck, Jayden Fleck and Calvin Christenson. Scott Tessier’s team from Arcola lost the A final.

Winners of the B division were Tony Faber’s team, which also had Peggy Slykhuis, Karon Dukart and Jason Dukart. They defeated Warren Neuman’s team. Neuman is also the president of the Arcola Curling Club.

The C division was won by Mickey Grimes' team, which had Erica Grimes, Andy Korchinski and Chase Kornkven. They beat the Rick Hoffman rink, who also won for the best-dressed team. Other members were Laurin Hoffman, Chase Boulet and Candace Boulet.

Many donations and ice sponsors from Carlyle, Arcola and Kisbey businesses helped to make this a successful event, for which the club is very thankful.