Skip to content

Preeceville High School acknowledged in academic and athletic accomplishments

Students recognized for accomplishments throughout the year.
Lexluv Acosta thumbnail
Lexluv Acosta was presented the male athlete of the year award at the Preeceville High School awards. The award was presented by Cary Franklin, teacher.

PREECEVILLE - Students at the Preeceville High School were acknowledged for their achievements at the grades 7 to 12 awards day held on June 27. Emerson Strykowski and Cassidy Paterson were mistress of ceremonies for the afternoon.

Doug King, principal, kicked off the afternoon with reciting the treaty recognition and displayed a new banner that featured Camryn Nelson’s silver medal win at the Provincial track and field meet held at the beginning of June.

Sheri Masko from the Crossroads Credit Union presented the student recognition awards to students in grades 7 to 12. Winners were: Deagan Anaka (Grade 7), Lexi Prouse (Grade 8), Payton Sorgen (Grade 10), Summer Stroeder (Grade 11), Camryn Nelson (Grade 9) and Kiera Balyski (Grade 12).

Members of the Kelvington 4-H Beef Club, Haley, Rebecca and Amber Spray, who attend the Preeceville School, made a donation on behalf of the club towards the Preeceville School playground equipment.

Next on the program, each home-room teacher presented academic awards in English Language Arts, Social, Health, Math, Science, Band, Physical Education and Practical Applied Arts to students in grades 7 to 12,

In Grade 7, winners were: Devon Purdy (Math), Bri Paterson (PAA), Olivia Ivanochko (Science, Art and Band), Danielle Viacrucis (Health, Social and Health) and Deagan Anaka (Phys-ed); in

Grade 8: Aly Apland (ELA), Franz Pinaroc, (Band), Amber Spray (Science, PAA, Phys-ed), Lexi Prouse (Math and Social), and Jilliane Barnachea (Art and Health); in Grade 9: Porter George (Social), Emerson Strykowski (Band), Paje Reynolds, (PAA and Health), Oakley Zuk (Math), Fiona Pinaroc (Art) and Brody Descalchuk (Phys-ed); in Grade 10, Cassidy Paterson (ELA, Work Experience), Payten Sorgen (ELA, Work Experience), Olivia Johnson (Math), Matthew Korney (Science), Alex Pederson (Social), Zander Purdy (PAA) and Cyrus Stittle (Industrial Arts); in Grade 11, Calan Hort (Phys-ed), Summer Stroeder (ELA), Isaiah Maier (Band) and Zach Sorgen (Math, Science, Social, Personal Finance and Industrial Arts).

The Student Representative Council was recognised with the new council also recognized.

Isaiah Maier received the cross-country determination award, and Amber Spray received rookie of the year.

The junior girls volleyball team members who received awards were: Kacey Heskin and Amber Spray (most improved), Maggie Bartel (most promising), Camryn Nelson (best offense) and Fiona Pinaroc (best passer).

Junior boys volleyball awards were presented to: Carter Halkyard (most improved), Avery Franklin (most dedicated) and Deagan Anaka (rookie of the year).

Senior boys volleyball awards were presented to: Mardy McLaughlin (most improved), Eric Dodge (most dedicated and rookie of the year) and Zach Sorgen, MVP.

Basketball awards were handed out by coaches. Award winners were: junior girls, Addison Danielson (most improved), Alexis Firman (defensive player of the year), Lexi Prouse (most dedicated), Camryn Nelson (MVP), Amber Spray (offensive player of the year) and Izzy Payette, (most promising); junior boys, Kaiden Bourassa (most improved), Brody Descalchuk (most dedicated), Porter George (MVP) and Deagan Anaka (rookie of the year); senior boys, Lexluv Acosta (MVP), Eric Dodge (most improved), Tristan Acosta and Zach Sorgen (rookie of the year) and Gerbo Javelona (dedicated and determined).

Senior football awards were presented by coaches Jeremy Mattison and James Dodge. Winners were: Hudsyn Nelson (lineman), Lexluv Acosta (offensive player of the year), Gerbo Javelona (defensive player of the year), Avery Franklin (dedicated and determined) and Eric Dodge (MVP).

Badminton awards went to: junior, Carter Halkyard (most improved) and Kaiden Bourassa (sportsmanship); senior, Haley Payette (most improved), Mia Mitchell and Kiera Balyski, (MVP) and Tristan Acosta and Isaac Kashuba (sportsmanship).

Camryn Nelson received the female track and field award, and Isaiah Maier received the male athlete award.

Athlete of the year awards went to Camry Nelson, female and Lexluv Acosta, male.