Skip to content

Northeast chuckwagon racers headed to the Calgary Stampede

Northeast Saskatchewan has plenty of chuckwagon drivers to cheer for.

NORTHEAST - Layne Macgillivray, Kris Molle, Wade and Evan Salmond are all heading back to the 2024 Calgary Stampede.  

All four seasoned chuckwagon racers are in the top Fourteen in the World Professional Chuckwagon Association standings heading into the weekend.  

Layne Macgillivray is ranked 3rd, Kris Molle in 8th, Wade in 12th and Evan in 14th.  

Wade Salmond from Weekes, Sask., talked to and said his horses are riding fast but have had penalty trouble lately. He hopes to stay clean, ride fast and stay in contention throughout the week.  

Wade had a memorable 2023 as he not only got to compete at the COWBOYS Rangeland Derby for the first time but he captured the Stampede’s Orville Strandquist Top Rookie Driver Award in a extremely close contest. Wade’s 2023 season also saw him qualify for the championship final heat at the Battle of the Foothills, and was a semi-finalist at the Ponoka Stampede. 

Evan Salmond comes into the Calgary Stampede currenlty in 14th place in the WPCA standing and hopes to have clean fast races. 

Rae Crouteau Jr currently sits in 1st and Chad Fike in 2nd. The Calgary Stampede provides the biggest stage for rodeo fans in Canada to cheer on their favourite rodeo event. 

Macgillivray who is originally from Melfort hopes to keep his title as the reigning champion of the Rangeland Derby.   

Molle who is originally from Watson, Sask., won the coveted derby in 2022.  Molle qualified for the championship final heat at the Ponoka Stampede and is looking to claim the top prize. 

Northeast Saskatchewan has plenty of chuckwagon drivers to cheer for. The week at the Calgary stampede shows temperatures in the high 20’s and the track will likely be running fast.  

Macgillivray races in heat 9, Molle in heat 7, Wade Salmond in heat 6 and Evan Salmond in heat 5. The Rangeland Derby will see 27 chuckwagons eligible to race in the 2024 Rangeland Derby.  

The chuckwagon Races will be broadcast daily, July 5 to 14 at 8:30 p.m. MT, live coverage on Rogers Sportsnet One.