Skip to content

Local Lions inducted into hall of fame

Thomas Schwab of Historic Battleford Lions and Gilbert Volk of North Battleford Lions honoured.


The Saskatchewan Lions Hall of Fame recently inducted new members including Historic Battleford member Thomas Schwa.

Schwab was honoured for his work with Lions, where he has served in various positions. He is also active with Knights of Columbus, volunteers for Revenue Canada to help seniors and delivers meals on wheels, to cite a few of the activities he engages in to make his community a better place.

In November he was also awarded a Melvin Jones award by District Governor Beryl Bauer.

The induction ceremony was held Oct. 28 at the 2022 Saskatchewan Lions convention held at the Ramada Hotel in Regina. The hall is sponsored by the Saskatchewan Past District Governors Association.

Pandemic cancellation of the 2020 and 2021 conventions meant three years of inductees were officially installed that evening.

North Battleford Lions Club member Gilbert Volk is also being inducted into the hall of fame, but was not at the event. Volk is well known in the community for his volunteer activities.

Other 2022 inductees are: David Theime (Saskatoon Downtown Lions Club); Clarence “Red” Pearse (Turtleford Lions Club); Glen Tait (McDowall Lions Club; and Suzanne Bantle (Prince Albert Lions Club).

Inductees from 2021 are Robert Banbury (Katepwa Lions Club) and Robert Klein (Bienfait Lions Club.

Honoured in 2020 were: Allan Senchuk (Estevan Lions club) and Don Leir (Pilot Butte Lions Club), both of whom passed away recently; and Pilot Butte Lions club members Ray Cordic, Jim boychuck, Ken Dornstauder, Jim Latumas; and Ken Eddy (Bethune Lions Club)..

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks