Skip to content

Lampman Lions held district governor’s night

Harvest Café hosts Lampman and District Lion Club meeting
Lions District 5-SK second vice-district governor Heather Vermeersch and district governor Alvin Matechuk attended the Lampman and District Lions meeting to induct five new members.

The Lampman and District Lions Club held their meeting on Dec. 15 at the Harvest Café in Lampman.

In attendance was Lions District 5-SK second vice-district governor Heather Vermeersch and her husband lion Jim, who are also members of the Carlyle District Lions Club, and district governor Alvin Matechuk from Regina. They brought greetings from international president Brian Sheehan. Also present was Lions Clubs International Foundation representative Dennis Feduk.

Members from Estevan, Stoughton and Carlyle came to join in on the special evening, which attracted a good crowd.

After the meal was served by the café, Vermeersch had a short speech and then inducted five new members: Jadon Carnduff, Scott Greening, Heath Greening, Tanner Frycz and Courtney Frycz.

Each year the club donates turkeys and oranges for the seniors’ Christmas supper and also supplies food hampers to those in need before Christmas. They also help families or individuals with health issues or facing disasters. The Lions are always there to help when they can.

They support the Toasty Tuesday program at the Lampman School and offer free skating at the rink in the winter and free swimming at the pool in the summer.

A Grade 12 student from the Lampman School is also awarded a scholarship each year.

An ongoing project is the collecting of unused eyeglasses. They are sent to a central location, the prescriptions are checked and then sent to needy countries.

This small community of Lions has supported the Lampman skating rink and two swimming pools, they also help to fund, maintain and improve the playparks.

Their annual fundraisers are the sports weekend and street, dance usually held in June, and the community lottery and Vegas draw.

A new executive was also installed that evening: past-president Edward Laverdiere, president Garrett Woodley, vice-president Damon Sutherland, second vice-president Scott Greening, third vice-president Todd Fornwald and treasurers Jaden Carnduff and Damon Sutherland.

The secretary is Richard Kochie. He is also the LCIF co-ordinator, awards chairman, and global service team representative. Larry Loughren is the marketing chairman, service chairman and visitation chairman.

Lottery chairmen are Edward Laverdiere and Todd Fornwald. Membership is Rhodney Greening, Gerry Perkowitsch and Scott Greening.

First-year directors are Heath Greening, Rhodney Greening and Doug Campbell. Second-year directors are Scott Greening, Garrett Woodley and Jacho Kim.

The remaining members are Gleny Dela Cruz, Mia Dela Cruz, Courtney Frycz, Tanner Frycz, Alvin Hase and Don Skogstad.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks