Skip to content

Several awards for southeast Saskatchewan at Sask. Country Music Awards

Numerous award winners were from southeast Saskatchewan this year.
Tenille album cover1-5894
Tenille's third album, Girl to GIrl, is up for a JUNO

A number of individuals from southeast Saskatchewan were recognized at this year's Saskatchewan Country Music Association Awards night on Saturday.

Tenille Arts of Weyburn was named the Female Artist of the Year and the Interactive Artist or Group of the Year, and won the National/International Artist Award. 

Teagan Littlechief of the White Bear First Nations was selected as the Indigenous Artist or Group of the Year.

The Happy Nun Cafe in Forget was named the Music Venue of the Year.

Brad Johner and Ken Johner of Midale captured the Legend and Legacy Awards for their years spent with the Johner Brothers. 

And former Estevan resident Cal Gratton won three radio awards: On-air Personality of the Year, Music Director of the Year and Country Music Person of the Year. 

The other award winners were: 

  • Male Artist of the Year, JJ Voss;
  • Group of the Year, Hunter Brothers;
  • Songwriter of the Year: "Retro Man, composer and performing artist - Jake Vaadeland;
  • Emerging Artist of the Year: Jake Vaadeland;
  • Country Album of the Year: Been a Minute by the Hunter Brothers;
  • Alternative Country Album of the Year: Retro Man by Jake Vaadeland;
  • Video of the Year: "Been a Minute" by the Hunter Brothers;
  • Bass Player of the Year: Mick Gratias;
  • Drummer of the Year: Dean Kushneryk;
  • Fiddle Player of the Year: Dean Bernier;
  • Guitar Player of the Year: Terry Lasko;
  • Keyboard Player of the Year: Jeffrey Straker;
  • Radio Station of the Year:  Major Market - Prince Albert's Saskatchewan Country CKBI (900 AM);
  • Radio Station of the Year – Secondary Market - Melfort's FM Country CJVR (105.1 FM);
  • Record Producer of the Year: Donny Parenteau for the song "These Days"; 
  • Recording Studio of the Year: Bart McKay Productions;
  • TV, Radio, or Online Show of the Year: JJ Voss Live and Local Wednesdays;
  • Fans Choice Entertainer of the Year: Jake Vaadeland;
  • Single of the Year: "Been a Minute" by the Hunter Brothers;  
  • Humanitarian Award: Sheryl Kimbley; and
  • Youth Development Bursary: J.J. Engstrom