Skip to content

Cornerstone school board has two new trustees

Michelle DeBruyne and Devona Putland were acclaimed to the board.
Michelle DeBruyne is now part of the South East Cornerstone Public School Division's board.

WEYBURN - The South East Cornerstone Public School Division’s board welcomed two new trustees at its meeting on Wednesday.

The new members are Michelle DeBruyne, who will represent subdivision 6 that covers the Ogema, Pangman, Yellow Grass, Radville, Gladmar and Oungre areas, and Devona Putland in Subdivision 1, which includes Rocanville, Wapella, Moosomin and Wawota).

Both women ran unopposed, thus cancelling any need for an election in February. They will complete terms scheduled to end in the fall of 2024.

DeBruyne fills the seat vacated by Jennifer Wilkinson, who had to step aside due to work and family commitments, while Putland is filling the seat left vacant following the death of long-time trustee Carol Flynn, who was also the board’s vice-chairwoman.

DeBruyne was in attendance for her first meeting as a sworn-in trustee while Putland was unable to attend in person, but it is anticipated she will be in attendance to be sworn in before the start of the next public meeting slated for Feb. 15 in the division’s head office in Weyburn.

Also, it was noted at the meeting that the Cornerstone system currently has 92 students in elementary French immersion classes in one school in Weyburn and one in Estevan. This was a program introduced to the public division in September 2021.

Prior to that, the public elementary school students were welcomed into French immersion classes offered by the Holy Family Roman Catholic Separate School Division that also operates within southeast Saskatchewan.

Near the conclusion of the meeting, board members were informed and entertained by a short video presentation featuring programs, students and administration of the Ogema School and community that bore the message that “the best learning comes from doing.”